Newbie, Archos questions

Discussion in 'Portable Disc & Media Players & Recorders' started by spirit979, Aug 28, 2005.

1. spirit979

spirit979

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello all, I'm a newbie here and a bit nieve regarding av stuff so please bear with me.

My main interests are track racing with my car, and as such I recently looked into getting a bullet cam for some better "action" shots rather than just the usual in-car shots with my Sony mini dv camera. The problem is that the bullet cam's I have looked at require AV inputs on the camcorder and my Sony does not have them :(

Whilst looking at the option of changing my camcorder to one with av inputs, I came across the Archos range of media players/recorders. I have been looking at he AV4100 and AV7100

My questions are this:

1: Am I right in saying they will accept av in with the supplied adapter, and will I get sound as well as pictures ?
    2: Is it right I can then simply download the recorded footage to my pc via usb ?
    3: Are they good value for money - was thinking it will double up as a source of entertainment for my son when we are on long journeys to track days.

Hope you guys can help, and thanks in advance for any replies.

Pete

2. Donnacha

Donnacha
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3,588
    I have the Av420, not sure about the modesl your interested in (I assume they're similar) but mine:

- does record from an AV input,with sound & pictures
    - does accept files via USB, but have to be encoded in the correct format first which is DIVX. They supply the software to do this, or you can get it off the net. It is time consuming depending on teh speed of your PC.