1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Newbie and a 32PD30

Discussion in 'TVs' started by Dharans69, Aug 10, 2004.

  1. Dharans69

    Dharans69
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    Please excuse me if im posting in the worong area.

    Been reading the forum with great interest, and as always came across the forum after I purchased the Panny 32PD30. :suicide:

    Anyways, got the Panny out of the box, set it up etc. Picture quality to say the least was less than impressive on terrestrial.
    I had an old Sony 28" (Not wide screeen). before, which had no problems with
    terrestrial reception. My hopes of a quality TV are sliding down at this point.

    The picture that I have is very grainy (if thats the term), is this normal?

    Picture geometry was pathetic, can't believe that Panasonic would send out a TV in such a state.

    After reading the forum and the sticky on 32PD30, I delved into the Service menu. From here I managed to correct with reasonable success the picture geometry :clap: . However I left alone the latter options as I have no understanding of what they do, anyone clarify?

    I've read of people using the DVE disk as a tool for correcting geometry, where can I get this from? anyone in Manchester?

    It says SERVICE MENU 1, is this to say there is more than 1 service menu? How can you access the other menu if there is one?

    Also in the top left and right of the screen there is shadowing of the picture color(not sure on the term here), like the corners of the picture are the opposite color to the image. The sort of effect created when you place an un-shielded speaker near the screen. How can this be corrected?

    At the moment I'm feeling I should have gone for the Tosh 32ZP38.


    Heres hoping this Panny wins my trust. Time for a :beer:

    Cheers

    Dharans69
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    see powerbuys forum DVE discs, £13 delivered from Peiro. have a quick search.
     
  3. screemer

    screemer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,409
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Southport
    Ratings:
    +42
    Where di u get te set from?
     
  4. Dharans69

    Dharans69
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    From an indendent Panny dealer in Leicester. Forget the name of the shop, don't have the receipt on me (At work at the mo).

    Anyone with any advice with my issues. :lease:

    Cheers.

    Dharans69
     
  5. CLH

    CLH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,126
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +21
    See if you suffer from some of my faults as detailed in the PD30 thread above.

    My most prevalent at the moment is jumping NTSC component picture.
     
  6. Dharans69

    Dharans69
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    Have been given the option of either a replacement or a refund. Which do you think.

    The other tv that I was considering was the Toshiba Picture frame 2(32ZP38) which has now been replaced by the picture frame 3 (32ZP48).
    Is the built in decoder any good do the RGB and optical audio offer better results compared to the Panny 32PD.

    Which do you think, any opinions? would the tosh be any better?
    Also does anyone know how to get into the service menu for the Toshiba?

    Need a reply quick, so any help would be great?

    Hears hoping for a better TV

    Dharans69
     
  7. Piers

    Piers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +227
    Dharans69

    I have calibrated quite a number of the 32ZP48, in every case with good results.

    Piers

    Home Cinema Engineering
    www.homecinemaengineering.com
     
  8. Dharans69

    Dharans69
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Piers,

    So you would say the Tosh is a better buy then?
    How do you get into service mode on the Tosh 32ZP38 or 48?

    Dharans69
     
  9. Piers

    Piers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +227
    Dharans,

    The Tosh is the one I would go for. As for service mode access if you search the net I am sure you will find it but I am not giving it to you - it is a major part of my business. Hope you understand.

    Piers
     
  10. Dharans69

    Dharans69
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for that. Found the service menu on the web :clap:

    Can anyone confirm if the new picture frame 3 Toshiba's the 32ZP48 and 36ZP48 have the 5.1 decoder and optical inputs like the 32ZP38 and 36ZP38 picture frame 2.

    I contacted Toshiba they said they did, looked at a 36ZP48, the 5.1 and optical in have been removed.

    Can anyone clarify?

    Thanks
     
  11. DRGL

    DRGL
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    746
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Shropshire,UK
    Ratings:
    +2
    I was looking at the PD30 that all the magazines raved about and found it to be awful,went for a Sony 36HQ100 that is being delivered this Sunday,picture was fantastic as was the geometry,only fault was with one of the picture processing modes causing slight Mpeg style picture break up,it can be switched off though.....
     

Share This Page

Loading...