1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

newbie advice pls - marantz or pioneer?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by danrichmond, Mar 3, 2005.

1. danrichmond

danrichmond
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello everyone, As you can see I am new to these forums, so I will tell you in advance - i'm no expert! :)

ok, I have done a lot of searching around on the DVD section and had made my mind up on the Pioneer DV575. Seems a good player, but..

I have just read a review in a magazine on the new Marantz model no. DV4500. This seems more ideal for me. According to the review it is far better than budget models. It got full marks for picture, sound, and build quality.

I have read some remarks about image 'flicker' on the pioneer which I dont like the sound of. I have also read the marantz player are much better with CD music, which is a BIG bonus to me. I dont mind spending extra on a better unit i.e. the Marantz.

Now I think I have definately decided on the Marantz. I also think it looks a far nicer machine. I have done a lot of searching for good prices but cant seem to find much discount. Can anyone tell me of anywhere cheap?? An alternative is eBay. I have seen one on there (I think it's still on) much cheaper than the £200 retail price. If I remember rightly it was £165. Does this seem a good deal? The advert says it is brand new with full warranty.

2. GFS AV

GFS AV
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, welcome!

You may have spotted me whilst looking for posts on the Marantz :D

I am a lucky owner of a DV4500 and am over the moon with it! This is an excellent piece of kit from Marantz - at £165 I say just go for it! I paid £180 for mine :(