Newbie: Advice buying a 26" Panasonic TX26TXD60 LCD TV Please

F

Fat Audi 80

Hi Newbie here with a long post! :hiya:

I have done a little research, and although some of my questions have been answered I thought a thread of my own would not hurt.

Basically my Phillips 28" CRT has died and I am looking to go LCD.

I generally watch TV, do not have sky, do not play games, but do watch the odd DVD. (It is to go in my small lounge, so I think 32" is too big)

I am thinking of buying the Panasonic TX-26TXD60 shortly. I understand this has had good reviews.

My Questions:

1.) Does the above TV suit my needs?
2.) Does the Panasonic have Audio out sockets so that I can connect to my Stereo system? Can't see it in the specs...
3.) Should I consider any others, my budget is £600 max really £650 - £700 at a push.

Finally:
4.) Should I go "LCD" at all or wait? I have read a couple of posts where members have stated that CRT converts may still be dissapointed in LCD performance???

Sorry for the long list of questions.

Cheers, :smashin:

Steve

see my later thread, but got the Panasonic Viera TX26LXD60 LCD HD for £637 at john Lewis. great TV, 1st LCD I bought and I play PS2, sky on it and it's fine. Dunno about this stereo stuff, I'm not a whiz kid, but will have a look tonight. Ask someone at the stores, they'll hopefully know or call panansonic up themselves???

But a good choice. Think it's fine for size as well

I think it's like the 32LXD60.......you have to use the headphone socket to feed an amp. Works well for me.

Hi

I have been looking at this TV for a while as well. Looking to get it next week and the best deal I have found fro the 26 is through Dixons. Can get for £549 using one of their discount codes.

Good thing with Dixons is that if your not happy you can return it within 14 days and they will arrange it for you and all you pay is £19.99.

You might want to have a look at the JVC LT-26DX7 or the Sony KDL-26S010 which are within you budget-about £630 range