1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New XBOX

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by Johnny Thunder, Mar 5, 2005.

  1. Johnny Thunder

    Johnny Thunder
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +140
    Hello everyone......
    just got my new xbox today. :thumbsup:
    I have it plugged into my 3805 with the standard composite cable
    for the time being. I would like to know what my options are with
    regards to improving picture and sound quality.
    I have my 3805 connected to my 50mxe1 via component.
    Any advice greatly appreciated.

    Johnny.
     
  2. CMcK

    CMcK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2003
    Messages:
    389
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +24
    Get the official SCART cable for the Xbox. So much better than using composite. The SCART box also has optical out so you can hook it up to a surround reciever.
     
  3. mr ooops

    mr ooops
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    3,592
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Hardwicke and Wotton
    Ratings:
    +353
    scart rgb to start with

    then either get it modded via chip or softmoddded via a game and a hacked save and use the microsoft HD pack to get a lovely pro scan piccy on that plasma of yours :)
     
  4. Johnny Thunder

    Johnny Thunder
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +140
    Could you please explain what this is Frag.
    Also, where I can get the HD pack from.
    Cheers.

    Johnny...... :smashin:
     
  5. explicitlyrics

    explicitlyrics
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,084
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NW London
    Ratings:
    +9
    you can get the official HiDef pack from the internet (not sold in UK) (non-official arent worth the money). http://www.lik-sang.com/info.php?category=83&products_id=1742& sells them. With regards to hacking the xbox, this involves either putting a chip inside the xbox and making the xbox think it is american OR loading a hacked gamesave and making it think it is american. More information can be found within the first few pages of this thread - http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=139019
     
  6. Johnny Thunder

    Johnny Thunder
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +140
    Thanks for the links.
    I am currently working my way through the long thread on this forum.
    Seems to be a lot of conflicting opinions on it.

    Johnny.
     
  7. Johnny Thunder

    Johnny Thunder
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +140
    Does the hidef pack also give 5.1 sound...????
     
  8. explicitlyrics

    explicitlyrics
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,084
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NW London
    Ratings:
    +9
    Yes, the hidef pack does also give 5.1 DD optical out.

    If you have any questions and cant be bothered to find the answers n the long thread send me a pm or add to this thread. Im quite knowledgable in the xbox area if I can say so. Joined xbox-scene in 2002 and followed it since ;)
     
  9. Johnny Thunder

    Johnny Thunder
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +140
    My head is in bits after reading that thread......... :suicide:
    I would like a simple recommendation if thats ok with you guys.
    I want hidef and digital audio.
    I would like to have the warranty intact if that is possible.
    Live is of no concern to me(I do all my multiplayer gaming on PC).
    The least pissing about, the better.
    I have no interest in playing anything other than games on the xbox.
    I will not use pirate software..........ever :nono: .
    (sorry mods if I should not use that statement, remove if necessary).
    I have only 1 game, Ghost Recon 2. I do not want to buy a crappy second
    hand game from ebay etc. I find it difficult to enjoy anything other than
    first person shooters.(there are a few though....... :rolleyes: )
    Would a hardware modification done now, face problems in the future, bearing
    in mind that any future game I play will be BOUGHT.... :lesson:
    What, in your experienced opinions, is the best option.

    Thank you all very much.

    Johnny.
     
  10. explicitlyrics

    explicitlyrics
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,084
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NW London
    Ratings:
    +9
    Given all the above you may be best to just settle for an advanced scart connection. This saves on all the hassle of modification for a picture that is good enough in many instances. I hope you didnt have to read the whole thread to discover this... :p
     
  11. mr ooops

    mr ooops
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    3,592
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Hardwicke and Wotton
    Ratings:
    +353
    well u may have only 1 game, but atleast its the best 1 out :)

    tbh, i read the softmodding guide, tried once, couldnt get it to work and mailed my xbox of to be chipped. but as they guy above said may be just better off using the official rgb scart (ive made do with that for 2 years and never complained about the quality) need prog scan for my projector.

    regards
    jason
     
  12. Deep-6

    Deep-6
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Messages:
    150
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi Johnny Thunder, just my two cents worth here..

    I soft modded my crystal xbox back in Jan and haven't looked back. It makes a big difference for a lot of games I own, like Project Gotham 2. Graphics look even nicer on my 32" LCD tv.

    Basically to softmod requires a little messing about. Here's what I (and others) have had to do:

    buy official MS hiDef pack from liksang (as already stated)

    Buy Splinter Cell (original, not classics, I have no idea if the Classics version will or not work, but the warning on xboxworld.com.au was to stick with the original) or use a friend's

    Buy a megaX key device. This allows you to download stuff from the pc onto a little dinky usb dongle that in turn connects to your xbox where you can upload Save games and such. Save games like the one you need to activate the hi def mode.. The savegame itself is easy to come by!

    To be honest you could walk into Game and come out with what you need. They sell some kind of action replay device which I think functions in a similar way.Still the component lead doesn't have optical out, so no 5.1 sound.

    To be honest, what I've written makes it sound like a long haul, I thought so, but I took the plunge and haven't looked back. Once you have everything there, its really easy. And most of your games will look better!

    I enjoy the scart rgb picture, but the component is better for games that support that increased resolutions.

    Good luck!
     
  13. explicitlyrics

    explicitlyrics
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,084
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NW London
    Ratings:
    +9
    The component cable does have optical out, I have seen 3 versions (gamester, official, one from ebay) and all of them had optical out.
     
  14. CAS FAN

    CAS FAN
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    34,504
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The Wheldon Road end!
    Ratings:
    +7,727
    BEST IMAGE & SOUND

    If you want the above then you need to do the following:

    - Mod your console (either via a chip or a soft mod). I have no experience re:soft modding but the thread you refer to goes into this in detail. "Chipping" the console will void the warranty so if this is vital to you then take this into consideration.

    - Buy a M$ High Def pack from somewhere like Lik Sang. This enables the console to output high def images in 480p, 720p & 1080i for games that output those resolutions (most just output 480p). The pack also has a Digital audio out connection (as well as analogue audio out).

    - Install Enigma Video Switcher onto your X-Box if you went down the chipping route. This enables you to change the X-Box from PAL to NTSC. Once in NTSC mode you can select 480p, 720p & 1080i from the M$ Dash.

    - You can now play your games in high def!

    NOT AS GOOD AN IMAGE & BEST SOUND

    - Buy an Advance scart cable. This allows RGB video connection and Digital Audio out. I went for a Joytech one which is just as good as the official M$ one but has the digital out (where as I think the M$ one doesn't). The X-Box's RGB out isn't very good (i've tried the official Advanced lead and 2 others - all the same) compared to say the PS2's output. The image is too soft and not very vibrant colour wise. Prog scan via the HD Pack is considerably better image wise.

    So those are really your 2 options. The RGB lead is OK if you're not a big gamer but if you play a lot then i'd definately say it's worth going down the High Def route. I modded my X-Box as soon as I got it last September and haven't looked back! :thumbsup:
     
  15. Johnny Thunder

    Johnny Thunder
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +140
    Thank you all very much for the replies................
    Alot simpler than that large thread. Yes, I read it all..........
    I will get everything to try the soft mod, I can
    certainly cope with buying Splinter Cell......
    if I do not like it, I will get the chip mod done.
    Thanks guys.
    Johnny.

    edit: If I go for the chip mod, which do you recommend.
     
  16. explicitlyrics

    explicitlyrics
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,084
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NW London
    Ratings:
    +9
    Depends on what you want out of the chip, I always buy the Xenium as it has the best value for some superb features. The Xecuter 3 has the most features but not enough to be worthy of the cost in my opinion. Alternatively you could go for a much cheaper chip that does the same, this may prevent you going on live but there are alternatives to official live (besides im not even sure if you want it)...
     
  17. Johnny Thunder

    Johnny Thunder
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +140
    Ex..........can these chips be self fitted, or should I have it done professionally.
    Do you know of a link to any site that tells how to do it. Or, a site that does it for you. Xenium that is.........Cheers.
    Johnny.
     
  18. Bonesy

    Bonesy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,143
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +27
    My suggestion is to get the MS hidef cable kit, and run it into your denon to do component switching.

    Even if you don't do the prog scan hack, I think the picture would be as good as scart, and you'll have the benefit of the amp switching both pic and sound with one button press.
     
  19. Deep-6

    Deep-6
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Messages:
    150
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    I was referring to a Game branded one which I saw which didn't have optical out, only analogue stereo. I could be wrong. I however use the official MS hi def kit.
     
  20. Johnny Thunder

    Johnny Thunder
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +140
    Already ordered....... ;) .......cheers Bonesy.
     
  21. Johnny Thunder

    Johnny Thunder
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +140
    Another quick question guys........
    I have just read about a boot disc. Is this still available.

    Johnny.
     
  22. CAS FAN

    CAS FAN
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    34,504
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The Wheldon Road end!
    Ratings:
    +7,727
    Some chips can be fitted without soldering, however I think that the newer consoles (V1.6) are not able to have a non-solder chip fitted (although this may have changed since I had mine fitted).

    I went for an Xcecuter 2.6 which is great. I didn't bother with the X3 as the additional features were of no use to me.

    There are various boot discs available that install the various software on your modded X-Box (such as enigma). The most famous one is the Slayers (currently version 2.6 I think) boot disc. I used this on mine & it worked a treat. It puts XB media centre, Avalaunch, Boxplorer, enigma, loads of emulators and stacks of other stuff on the console!
     
  23. explicitlyrics

    explicitlyrics
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,084
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NW London
    Ratings:
    +9
    If youw ant to fit it yourself then you will probably want a no solder chip. These are compatable with 1.6 xboxes (the newest version), but only Xenium sell a compatable no solder adapter. It may work out cheaper if you pay to get it installed if this is expensive. www.divineo.co.uk sell a whole choice of chips. Generally speaking, if its a no solder then you can do it yourself, if not then pay to get somebody else to do it. Check the version of your xbox before you start and it could save you a lot of hassle.
     
  24. mrm3

    mrm3
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,002
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Cobham
    Ratings:
    +94
    IF you are starting afresh and have nothing xbox. What would you buy and from where? If money was no object. I would like to just add to basket and have it all.
    HiDef with component and compatible with live. So Pal and NTSC etc

    Sorry for jumping on thread !
     
  25. Johnny Thunder

    Johnny Thunder
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +140
    If I had looked into it, and not just got one on the spur of the moment,
    I would have got one imported, or bought a premodified one.
    There is another thread in this forum, which I remember reading, which
    gives a link for premodified. Sorry but I cannot remember which thread.

    Hope thats of some help to you mrm.

    Johnny.
     
  26. Johnny Thunder

    Johnny Thunder
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +140
    Another question for you good people............ :)
    Are there more hidef games available in U.S, or anywhere else
    for that matter.
    If so, I would like to know if that affects the type of chips you
    have all been recommending.
    Thank you.

    Johnny.
     
  27. Tob3z

    Tob3z
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    194
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Newquay, Cornwall
    Ratings:
    +0
    Man, I tryed to read through this thread and got confused.
    I have a modded xbox. Did it myself.. only use it for homebrew apps like media center.
    I really don't think you should get it modded because you want better picture... well I can.. sort of.
    I would just buy a decent cable. Use something like scart or s-video and then optical for 5.1.
    But if you really want to go down the modded road you can't go wrong with the xbit. Its solderless and I have modded 5 xbox's with it.
    Good luck
     
  28. explicitlyrics

    explicitlyrics
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,084
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    NW London
    Ratings:
    +9
    Basically, as i have said many times there isnt a great difference between the chips other than a few features. I am not one to comment on the value of the change, it is most certainly better quality, but I dont know whether it is worth £60-70... I think if you add Xbox Media Centre to the mix then it easily is worth the cost.

    Mostly, games run wherever you are based, there are a couple of US games that dont work unless you have made it a USA xbox and vice-versa but not many. All decent chips (X3/Xenium/probably XBIT) let you change region with the press of one button. but, Xenium is easier to install as there are 2 wires more with the X3 if you want the same features as the Xenium.
     
  29. CAS FAN

    CAS FAN
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    34,504
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The Wheldon Road end!
    Ratings:
    +7,727
    Sorry but 480p, 720p & 1080i via the M$ High def pack is much better than the standard output no matter what Lead you use. I was using a good quality RGB scart previously and whilst the picture was OK and obviously much better than composite scart it was quite poor compared to the picture that I get now.
     

Share This Page

Loading...