1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Windows XP Pro user seeks help

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by Bert Coules, Jul 3, 2005.

  1. Bert Coules

    Bert Coules
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Messages:
    3,001
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +119
    I've just upgraded to XP Pro (from ME, which I didn't find nearly as problematical as some seem to have).

    I'm still getting to grips with the changes, cosmetic and otherwise, but there's one thing which I'd like some advice on. Despite all the thousands of websites offering Windows help, I can't find this anywhere - probably because I don't know its official name.

    When I connect to the internet, a little pop-up window appears just above the task bar. It has an (i) symbol, presumably because it's giving information, and does indeed contain a text giving the name of the modem, the connection speed and so on. And in case I don't realise what all this relates to, the window has a neat little built-in arrow which points to the relevent icon on the task bar. It looks for all the world like a speech bubble from a comic, but isn't, sadly, anything like as entertaining.

    The thing is, this blasted little window doesn't go away: I have to click the (X) in its top right-hand corner. And the other thing is, I don't actually want it to appear in the first place.

    How can I turn it off? Presumably it is switchable, somewhere?

    Many thanks,

    Bert
    http//www.bertcoules.co.uk
     
  2. Garrett

    Garrett
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2001
    Messages:
    33,083
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The best thief you’ll never see.
    Ratings:
    +4,355
    I do not know what you mean Bert but if you like the way things use to be set out, me for one just go to;

    Start
    Settings
    Taskbar and start menu
    Start menu tab
    And click on classic.

    And thing will be like they use to be.
     
  3. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,560
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,892
    They are called balloon tips.
    Click Start, then Run
    Type gpedit.msc and click OK
    Click user configuration on the left hand side
    Click administrative templates the left hand side
    Double click start menu and taskbar on the right hand side
    Scroll down and double click Remove balloon tips on start menu items
    Check the enabled box
    Click OK and then exit from GPEDIT

    This should stop them (I think this is what you mean!)
     
  4. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,560
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,892
    I've just realised that this might not be what you want to get rid of, so it might be best to hang fire before doing those instructions I've just posted (although they can be changed back again and won't cause any damage!)
     
  5. Bert Coules

    Bert Coules
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Messages:
    3,001
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +119
    JohnG,

    Thanks for that. I did what you suggested, but unfortunately it had no effect on that particular pop-up info window, which is still appearing, annoying as hell.

    There are lots of other interesting things in that GPEDIT section though. I shall enjoy mucking about with them.

    If you've any other thoughts, I'd be grateful for them.

    Bert
    http://www.bertcoules.co.uk
     
  6. Bert Coules

    Bert Coules
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Messages:
    3,001
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +119
    Garrett,

    Many thanks for that. Unfortunately, I'd already done it: it doesn't seem to affect the thing I'm talking about.

    Bert
    http://www.bertcoules.co.uk
     
  7. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,560
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,892
    I'm trying to remember how I turned mine off and can't for the life of me remember how :blush: It'll come to me after a couple of drinks no doubt !
    Edit:- It might be this one.
    Go into Control Panel
    Double click Network Connections
    Right click the connection you use for internet (in my case it says Local Area Connection) then click properties.
    Uncheck the "Show icon in notification area when connected" box
    Click OK and exit the network connections
     
  8. Bert Coules

    Bert Coules
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Messages:
    3,001
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +119
    If that's the key to understanding XP Pro, I'm sunk - I don't drink.

    If it does come back to you, I'd appreciate the info.

    Bert
    http://www.bertcoules.co.uk
     
  9. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,560
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,892
    I just edited the post above with an extra thought I just had
     
  10. Bert Coules

    Bert Coules
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Messages:
    3,001
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +119
    JohnG,

    I just tried your latest idea. It certainly kills the pop-up but unfortunately (though not really surprisingly) it also stops the "connected" icon from appearing.

    I've grown rather accustomed to that little picture of the two overlapping monitor screens (at least, I assume that's what it is) so I'll have to weigh up the disadvantage of losing that against the advantage of losing the balloon thingy.

    Unless there's another way...

    Edited to add:

    Armed with the correct name, I searched around again and just found this tweak:

    [Start] [Run] [Regedit]
    Registry Key: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Advanced
    Modify/Create the Value Data Type(s) and Value Name(s) as detailed below.
    Data Type: REG_DWORD [Dword Value] // Value Name: EnableBalloonTips
    Setting for Value Data: [0 = Balloon Tips Disabled / 1 = Balloon Tips Enabled]
    Exit Registry and Reboot

    It was on this page: http://www.theeldergeek.com/notification_area_balloon_tips.htm

    Wish me luck...

    Bert
    http://www.bertcoules.co.uk
     
  11. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,560
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,892
    This may do it but it means editing the registry link to Microsoft - if you do this be sure to back up the registry first (or create a restore point).
    There also used to be a tool called TweakUI which may be worth looking for.
     
  12. Bert Coules

    Bert Coules
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Messages:
    3,001
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +119
    I used to use TweakUI quite a bit. I'll check and see if it's still around and in an XP version. Good idea.

    Bert
    http://www.bertcoules.co.uk
     
  13. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    Tweak UI may do it, also try for a program called X-Setup which is the best tweaking software that I've come across. :)
     
  14. Bert Coules

    Bert Coules
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Messages:
    3,001
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +119
    JohnG,

    I just tried the Registry tweak, which didn't do it.

    Eviljohn 2,

    Thanks for the recommendation. I'll take a look at X-Setup.

    Edited to add:

    X-Setup doesn't cover it. I'm off to look for an XP version of Tweak UI...

    Edited to add:

    Success! Good old Tweak UI did the trick. Many thanks for the suggestion. Incidentally, I was mildly surprised to find it on an actual Microsoft site: I thought it was rather more unofficial than that.

    Bert
    http://www.bertcoules.co.uk
     
  15. -Jay-

    -Jay-
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,882
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Kop End
    Ratings:
    +135
    Sorry to ask my own question but while we have a windows topic i may as well. My dad just got a new pc with XP Home on it, it has service pack2 and we keep getting this message.

    A problem has been detected and windows has shut down to prevent damage to your computer.

    IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL

    Check to make sure hardwear or softwear is properly installed, if this is a new installation, ask your softwear or hardwear manufacturer for any windows updates you might need.

    If the problem continues, disable or remove any newley installed hardwear or softwear, disable BIOS memory options such as caching or shadowing. if you need to use safe mode to remove or disable components, restart your computer press F8 to select advanced startup options then select safemode.

    TECH INFO
    Stop 0x0000000 (0xE1465000,0x00000002,0x00000001,0x8056DAFF)

    I've checked all the drivers are up to date etc, it only shuts down when i disconnect from the internet on his 56k modem.
     
  16. overkill

    overkill
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,778
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Murkeyside
    Ratings:
    +1,194
    See any of this lot helps LFC fan. Its usually a driver error of some kind.windows support Bit unusual for a brand new PC? Where's it from?
     
  17. -Jay-

    -Jay-
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,882
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Kop End
    Ratings:
    +135
    PCworld say no more :rolleyes:
     
  18. -Jay-

    -Jay-
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,882
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Kop End
    Ratings:
    +135
    All that has been put on the pc so far is Norton anti-virus, the printer & optical mouse which the pc setup on its own. I have'nt got a clue whats wrong, it gets on my nerves i click disconnect & the darn thing restart with that message. Also says a log off erorr happened please report it to M$. :thumbsdow
     
  19. overkill

    overkill
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,778
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Murkeyside
    Ratings:
    +1,194
    Try installing the printer and mouses supplied drivers. Sometimes Windows own drivers aren't up to date enough and the hardware spits them out. I've seen the MS website offering 'updates' for drivers some three years out of date. Ie when XP was released.

    Nortons another one worth double checking. Got to the same page I gave above and stick in a search for Norton problems.
     
  20. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    25,560
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +3,892
    Has this problem always occured or is it a recent thing ?
    If your computer always reboots when you get an error, assuming you have XP, you can turn this off so that it just gives you the error. Right click on My Computer then click on Properties. Click on the Advanced tab, then click on Startup and Recovery, then uncheck the Automatically Restart box.
    There's a whole lot of reading here for STOP errors etc.
     
  21. -Jay-

    -Jay-
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    4,882
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Kop End
    Ratings:
    +135
    Only had the pc 3 days and we only saw it for the first time after we connected to the internet & logged off after installing all the norton updates.
     
  22. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    Dagnabbit, I've also started having a major issue with my computer tonight. :mad:

    Using Win98SE (not that I can get that far) I've managed to get over the msmouse.vxd error and a himem.sys error but now AVG always freezes on it's startup session (running from the autoexec.bat) and if I skip that then Scandisk won't run - it just sits on there with a blue screen saying "Scandisk" but none of the traditional button options turn up. Any ideas? :(
     
  23. Bert Coules

    Bert Coules
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Messages:
    3,001
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +119
    I'm revisiting this thread because I've just stumbled across another Windows XP oddity: if I try to open the Pinball game, all I get is a quick flash of the startup screen and then the program closes and I'm back on my desktop.

    A Google search for ideas on this has come up surprisingly blank. Does anyone here have any thoughts?

    Bert
    http://www.bertcoules.co.uk
     
  24. BMW2005

    BMW2005
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    so my sister is still using windows me and shes so happy about it, no virus- nothing. I am thinking about re-upgrade my pc; half the stress. What do you mean?
     
  25. Bert Coules

    Bert Coules
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2002
    Messages:
    3,001
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +119
    I'm not sure if you're asking me, but if you are, I'm afraid I don't really know what you're getting at. If you're referring to my comment that some people have had problems with ME, I thought that this was just generally accepted, and that it was less stable for some users than is XP.

    If your sister is happy with it, great.

    Bert
    http://www.bertcoules.co.uk
     
  26. overkill

    overkill
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,778
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Murkeyside
    Ratings:
    +1,194
    ME was (is) about as stable as a Tory backbencher during a hanging debate! ;) It was Win98SE under the hood, with a whole load of multimedia functionality plastered over the top. As such, an OS that was already quirky became soggier than ever. It had general stability problems, and needed massive amounts of memory to run smoothly, and suffered from memory leaks. XP for all it's faults (and they are numerous) is a huge improvement on ME.
     
  27. eviljohn2

    eviljohn2
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Near London.
    Ratings:
    +208
    I would (and do) take 98SE over ME anyday. In fact I'm still happy with 98SE over XP which I just can't get on with. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...