1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New User, Help!

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by Sands, May 27, 2002.

1. Sands

Sands

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

I am pretty new to the camcorder market and was wondering if anyone could help me? I am in the process of purchasing a digital mini DV camera. What I want is to be able to view/store and create my own DVD's of the footage I produce. Therefore can anyone please tell me what equipment/software/ hardware I require to be able to do this myself and will I be able to also transfer exsisting S-VHS, VHS tapes into DVD's with this equipment.

I will have access to a PC and intend to purchase a firewire card.

Any help/info on the above will be appreciated.
    :confused:

2. JefUK

JefUK

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +53
    The start of a long, but ultimately very worthwhile, journey.

First you will need a fairly powerful PC preferably a P4 with a lot of fast hard drive space and 2 spare PCI exapnsion slots. A sound card must be included. Its a good idea to have a second (slave) 7200rpm HDD of at least 40Gb solely for video.

The PC will require a Firewire port for capturing DV. The most common way to get a Firewire port is to fit a Firewire expansion card, but some other cards include them as an extra facility e.g the Creative Audigy sound card - which is an excellent sound card anyway.

For capturing analogue video (composite video and S-video) you will need an analogue capture card. I would recommend the Pinnacle Studio DC10+.

This DC10+ card comes with Pinnacle Studio 7 editing package, which will also aquire DV through a standard Firewire port.