Question New TV, no sound to HDMI ARC soundbar, but stops tv speakers

Discussion in 'Soundbars, Soundplates & Soundbases' started by compact, Jul 15, 2018.

  1. compact

    compact
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +1
    TV: Digihome 49 Inch 49298
    Soundbar: Hitachi 240w 2.1ch sound bar with wireless subwoofer
    Extras: Nvidia Shield TV

    Soundbar is connected to TV via HDMI (ARC to ARC)
    Shield connected to TV via HDMI

    I have tried different settings on TV and Soundbar (limited settings).
    Select HDMI Arc on the Soundbar remote, the sounds disappears from the TV speakers, but no sound from the Soundbar.
    The soundbar remote displays icons on the TV for Mute, Sound Up, Sound Down etc
    Select Optical on the Soundbar remote, the sound is back on the TV Speakers, but no sound form the Soundbar, no icons displayed when pressing the soundbar remote.

    TV/Settings/Other Settings/more: Speakers TV, or Amplified (neither make this work)

    Any ideas?
     
  2. JayCee

    JayCee
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    24,004
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +2,618
    Have you checked the sound settings on the shield?
     
  3. compact

    compact
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi, there aren't any sound settings on the shield that i can see.
    Also it's doing the above, no sound when on normal Digital TV
     
  4. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    28,933
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +3,575
    ARC and its buddy CEC can be a bit of a lottery - the best 'fix' is often to disable CEC, which in turn disables ARC, and revet to an Optical cable between the TV Digital Out and the Soundbar Digital Input (I am assuming they both support Optical Digital audio).

    Joe
     
  5. compact

    compact
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +1
    HI @Joe Fernand yeah I'm going to pick up an Optical Cable. Shame looks like I didn't win the lottery this time:(
     
  6. turk3y

    turk3y
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    3,253
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,035
    If you go to your sound menu do you have digital out? If so can you set it to LPCM , wav or anything other than Dolby or Ac3?
    It could be the TV is sending an audio codec or container the soundbar does not support.
     
  7. compact

    compact
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    67
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi @turk3y That worked.
    Cheers.

    The Bar doesn't turn on with the TV, but it's a start
     

Share This Page

Loading...