1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New TV card but what cables?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows' started by Tezdread, Sep 20, 2005.

  1. Tezdread

    Tezdread
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    :hiya:


    just got my Hauppage MCE PVR150 card posted today, it's an OEM from aria.co.uk for approx 55 quid, only came with the drivers and a radio arial

    what I want to do is plug my sky digibox into it so I can watch record straight from sky so would I need a SCART to SVideo cable? Then this would go from the back of the sky digibox SCART VCR port into the SVideo input on the PVR card?

    Also will MCE do all the capturing or will I need additional software? any suggestions on what I need to get it all fully working would be great :thumbsup:

    thanks
     
  2. Spacecat

    Spacecat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,830
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +528
    you will need a scart to svideo convertor £35 from maplins
    and all the correct drivers for your card
     
  3. Tezdread

    Tezdread
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    cheers, am I right in thinking that the TV in connection on the TV card wont be used coz I'm using the digibox?

    also does the scart to svid go from the VCR scart or the normal scart that goes to the TV? guessing its the vcr and then if i add another card that would be the the free scart to svid on that one
     
  4. phunkey_monkeh

    phunkey_monkeh
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ive just taken delivery of the same card in anticipation of my Sky installation this Thursday.

    Im waiting to see what connection i have on my digibox. Its all a bit confusing lol (for a simpleton like me )
     
  5. Spacecat

    Spacecat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,830
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +528
    You need a scart from the sky box to the svidio convertor and a cable from the svideo convertor to the svideo input of your card.

    no need to use the VCR
     
  6. phunkey_monkeh

    phunkey_monkeh
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    What about sound Spacecat?
     
  7. evolution400

    evolution400
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cwmbran
    Ratings:
    +17
    if you purchase a scart to svideo lead it should have the svideo connection which is for the video and then 2 stero leads left and right they then plug into the maplins RGB > SVIDEO converter you then use the supplied SVIDEO lead that you have with the maplins box plug that into your TV card also on the TV card is a stereo jack input which is used for the sound so if you dont have one you will need to buy a single stereo (headphone style connector > twin left right stereo lead.
     
  8. Snash

    Snash
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Messages:
    84
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    You could just run the rf out from the Sky box via standard co-ax aerial to the tv card, that would get sound and vision but not the same quality as SCART. It's how I run mine and the quality is reasonable, but would be improved by a decent feed from HTPC to TV :(
     
  9. evolution400

    evolution400
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cwmbran
    Ratings:
    +17
    RF is the worst signal you can get I would recomend switching to composite over RF if your not willing to purchase an RGB > SVIDEO converter you just use the supplied haupauge scart type lead hook scart end to your SKYBOX then other end goes into the back of the card thats if your card is similar in seteup to the PVR-350.
     
  10. Tezdread

    Tezdread
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    :suicide:

    ok not quite that bad but getting there ;)

    I couldn't find the cable on maplin but if it's £35 I have found cheaper :thumbsup:

    http://shopping.kelkoo.co.uk/b/a/ss_scart_to_s-video_cable.html

    there's a few to choose from there.

    hopefully my understaning is ok but let me try and explain what I'm hoping to do and see if it will work...

    The kit:
    Sky Digibox has two SCART out's - One that it currently connected to the TV and one that is not used. It also has Digital out Audio.

    Creative USB Sound card - Digital In + Line left & right Out

    PVR150 - S-Video In + left & right audio in

    The plan:
    Remove the SCART (digibox) to SCART (tv)
    Replace this with a SCART (digibox) to S-Video (PVR150)

    Will this sort the visuals?

    Then have digital audio out (digibox) to digital audio in (usb sound card) then left & right audio out (usb card) to left & right audio in (pvr150)

    If that won't work for the sound, do I just need to get a SCART to S-Video + left & right RCA audio and plug all three directly into the PVR150??
     
  11. Tezdread

    Tezdread
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    just bought the 1m SCART to S-Video + Left & Right RCA Audio for less than £12
    gold plated etc...look good qual and well priced
     
  12. Tezdread

    Tezdread
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  13. Spacecat

    Spacecat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,830
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +528
    have you got a CRT TV or LCD/PLASMA?
     
  14. Tezdread

    Tezdread
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  15. evolution400

    evolution400
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Messages:
    1,136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cwmbran
    Ratings:
    +17
    You will still need to buy the following converter you now have all the correct leads just your sky box will not output SVIDEO only RGB and composite.
    The haupauage will interpret the signal as composiste unless you buy one of these:-
    trust me I have been there done that and the step up from composite to SVIDEO is well worth it.
    this is what you need
    http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=30782&doy=22m9
     
  16. AWLaLa

    AWLaLa
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2005
    Messages:
    4
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Edit
    *******
    I see Evolution400 beat me to the post :)
    *******

    You're still gonna need the RGB to S-Video convertor from Maplins though.

    Connecting a scart-->S-video cable from the back of your Sky box to your PVR150 will result in a black and white picture only.

    I've just this last week built my first MCE machine and have used the box from Maplins to get my Sky into the PC;I get a great picture 95% of the time although there does appear to be some colour bleed occasionally on some of the cartoon channels;Daffy Duck's bill seems to cause most of it! I'll have a look and see if there is anything I can do to fix/lessen this later in the week.

    LaLa
     
  17. Tezdread

    Tezdread
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    okeydokey I take your word for it and don't doubt you're right...it is all working out a lot more expensive than I first thought but hey it often does...

    so am i right in thinking that I'll have a scart to scart (digibox to converter) then the supplied s-vid & L&R RCA's plugs from the converter to the PVR150?
     
  18. phunkey_monkeh

    phunkey_monkeh
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well mine Sky was installed today.
    And for the meantime ive just got a cheapo scart-composite adapter and cheapo phonos.

    Its doing the job, but the picture is a bit poor.
    Ill have to sort out some decent cables.
     
  19. Spacecat

    Spacecat
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,830
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +528
    if you have a Radeon card get the Keene VGA to SCART lead
    (PC To TV) for the best possible picture to a CRT TV.
    You will need to set up in powerstrip, loads of posts here about it
     
  20. phunkey_monkeh

    phunkey_monkeh
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im using a PJ :)

    I've changed the phono cables for Ixos ones now. Cant say I notice any difference. But i still have the very cheap VGA to composite adapter in there.
     
  21. Tezdread

    Tezdread
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    lol I really am confused with it all and can't spend any more money :eek:

    I'm gonna wait for the bits I've ordered to arrive then probably spend a day swapping them all around in different configs and hopefully I will get it all to work :rolleyes: maybe

    no it will be ok!! :thumbsup: I'll post up the results when I'm done
     

Share This Page

Loading...