Question New TT hum -is this normal?

LawlB

Standard Member
Reaction score
I really could do with some help. I’m not technical above plugging in and turning on.

I purchased a demo Thorens TD350 Turntable which came with a 1 year warranty after reading some good reviews.

I have connected it up to a new Arcam SA30 which when connected together, results in a very noticeable and loud hum. Low volume not auditable but anything around normal family room listening is very noticeable. I don’t have my music loud, so it’s not a small noise that’s heard at maximum volume. It’s a loud hum and normal listening levels.

The Thorens does not have an earth connector but the Arcam does.

Tried new or different cables, connectors, different speakers, placement changes, rooms, different wall sockets and so on. No change whatsoever.

Emailed dealer, who said that hum can be problematic to detect followed by;

“Unlikely to be a fault with the tonearm and wiring but more a system mains hum earth loop hum, sometimes too many earths cause a ground loop causing more noise in the system this is why star single point earthing is desirable”.

Not a great place to be left given I have no idea what to do now.

Tried earth cable from Arcam and touched around Thorens, made no difference until I touched the centre metal spindle. Touching anything else made no difference. Touching the earth cable to the spindle reduced it by about 50%.

The hum was whether the TT was turned on or not, but as it connects to a MM specific connection, I didn’t feel safe plugging into a different connection.

I would appreciate some advice particularly whether this is an acceptable outcome for new kit, or if the hum I describe is an expected outcome of any expensive turntable set up or if in actual fact, it does suggest that there is an issue with the turntable.

I should just add, no hum when TT disconnected from the Arcam or when anything else like CD is connected, just the TT.