New to this scene, looking for advice. (Amp / Speakers)

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by xs2man, Sep 1, 2007.

1. xs2man

xs2man

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +68
    Hi guys, I'm new to this scene, so please gimme a break, lol.

Basically, I'm on a strict budget (although I've already blown it with what I've seen, lol). But am wondering if this looks like a good first set-up?

Basically, I was originally thinking of a Marantz SR5001 Amp.

I was unsure of speakers, but I do love the sound I get from my Warfdale Diamond 7.1's so was thinking about them, but the hi-fi shop I was in suggested a set of Kef speakers (unsure of codes, sorry, all I got was the sub code, PSW 1000.2).

So I started to look around for some reviews etc... to see how they compared.

Anyway, having looked around for a while, I have seen another set-up, which I thought looked quite nice.

a pair of Wharfedale Evo2-30 floor standing main speakers
    Wharfedale Evo2-Centre speaker
    DFS rear speakers

matched to

Sony STR-DA1200ES strda1200es home cinema receiver

I only choose the receiver really because
    a) it was on a deal, and
    b) it had won so many awards.

So, even with that set-up I have blown my budget by aroud £300 (I can get the lot for £800, is that good?).

Well, this is my first "proper" stereo attempt and I aint got much of a clue really, lol. As it is my Decks go through a Technics (middle of their range) amp, and the afore mentioned diamond 7.1's and it sounds lovley. My TV goes through a cheap pioneer dvd surround system with the xbox 360's sound going through an optical cable for sound.