New to this need advice....

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by nsl2178, Dec 6, 2002.

1. nsl2178

nsl2178

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok im new to this and i read the av fax page so dont link me there. I might ask some ignorant questions but just bare with me.

Im interested in buying a video projector for my home under $1,000. I dont mind second hand but I have no idea what brands are good and which ones iIshould stay away from. Also how big are most the pictures put out by the projector, 8 feet wide? Last question is how much distance to I need from the screen and the projector or whats recommened? Thanks in advance.

2. nsl2178

nsl2178

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. RichardH

RichardH
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    This depends on the projector. Also, the further the projector from the screen, the larger the image (obviously).

I suggest you lurk here for a bit, and you'll soon pick info up - there have been several threads on cheap/secondhand projectors recently. If you find a projector and want to know the image size it will project at a given distance from screen, visit Projector Central's calculator which will give you what you need to know. There is also a lot of other info on there that may help you get some more knowledge!

R

4. nsl2178

nsl2178

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks a lot for the link to the calculator.....what does everybody think of that panasonic pt-l592u?

5. Smurfin

Smurfin
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,389
    Just checked on projector central and although this projector is listed, there is no information on it:(

6. nsl2178

nsl2178

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
  7. nsl2178

nsl2178

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0