New to the HTPC world - need some advice.

markmeus

Standard Member
Hi everyone.

I'm relatively new to the whole HTPC scene, and only really discovered it by chance playing with Media Centre in Win7 However it's made me realise there’s a whole area of home entertainment I never thought was possible.

So first off apologies if I seem a little slow. Built a few computer systems about 4 years ago when AMD were generally perceived to have the edge over the Intel CPUs, but I've been out of the loop for a while and it seems Intel rule the roost these days.

With that in mind I stumbled across this forum trying to figure out what sort of CPU I need for my Media centre PC.

I had a look at the FAQ which has been a great help but I'm not sure how recent the CPU section is.

Basically I want to be able to do the following things with my HTPC
  • upscale DVDs
  • play HD mkv files (as far as I'm aware I need a powerful CPU for this?)
  • watch content from BBC iPlayer/Youtube etc in HD if possible (again from what I've read on here, the lack of hardware acceleration means I need a fast CPU?)
Now for the processor am I right in thinking that a faster clock speed is more beneficial in a HTPC than having loads of cores?

At the moment I'm thinking of a Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 3GHz 65w. Overkill? Not enough power? or am I barking up the wrong tree and should I be looking at AMD instead.

As for motherboards, I'm equally as confused. Are onboard graphics good enough for my HD needs? I see a lot of motherboards with HD mentioned all over the specs. Ideally for simplicity I'd like to hook my PC to my TV via HDMI, obviously with a separate graphics card I'm not going to get sound over HDMI but if I get a motherboard with onboard HDMI port will it do the sound as well?

Sorry for the 20 questions, but I'd appreciate any advice.