1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New to PC Editing

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by blue2555, Jan 15, 2004.

1. blue2555

blue2555

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,
    I am new to PC editing, I want to edit my wedding video (Svhs)to VHS. I have a Window ME, Athlon 1.3khz, 512 ram, 60g Hard drive, with usb 1.1 and 2.0. nividia TNT2 pro64 graphics card.
    and JVC Svhs vcr.

I have tried Pinnacle DC10 PCI- ran ok.edited ok/ but failed to digitise only 1 in 3 attemps.
    ATI all-in-wonder : did not work at all.

Please would someone tell me if the following would work?
    Using the above PC spec - Canopus ADVC100 to my PC, with JVC Svhs VCR playing out/ recording back.

I guess I would need to upgrade to higher Windows OS.
    Will I be able to edit in DV better than MPEG? without dropped frames? I only need to edit from 30 mins. (as I know DV would eat my drive)
    Or is there something less expensive - while preserving quality?

Many thanks,

2. vonhosen

vonhosen

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +13
    I use a Canopus ADVC-100 for analog digital conversion & it works very well. (No dropped frames,locked audio etc). Easy to set up & use between your PC & VHS recorder, but you will need firewire on your PC. You can get generic firewire cards cheaply.

If you seriously want to edit video get a large 2nd hard drive to capture all your video to as well.

Most editing packages are geared around DV editing. MPEG editing is not a simple task because of the temporal compression it uses.

3. blue2555

blue2555

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,
    Thank you for your reply. Will the Canopus Advc100 work with my operating system Windows ME or would it be worth upgrading anyway because of better performance (windows XP , 2000 etc).