New to HTPCs

Discussion in 'Microsoft Windows' started by MattLeCat, Aug 5, 2006.

1. MattLeCat

MattLeCat

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi everyone,

I hope someone can help me - i'm new to HTPCs and these forums.

I have just purchased a media center PC from Dixons (I got a good deal) and the digital tv card supplied is very choppy - I can only receive 12 freeview channels and none of them are watchable!

I decided to connect my freeview box to the TV card using a TV out cable but still extremely choppy.

Is there anything I can do? Is there something wrong with my TV card or do I just need to upgrade to a higher quality one?

Thanks a lot for your help,

Matt

2. nigelbb

nigelbb

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +491
    You have a poor signal for your DVB-T (Freeview) card. It's not unusual as they seem less sensitive than a standalone Freeview box. When you connected the TV-out of your Freeview box to the DVB-T card you just fed it the same TV aerial as that TV-out is just an aerial loop-through.

If you are lucky then a cheap signal booster will fix your problems although it may require a decent aerial to be installed on your roof.

3. MattLeCat

MattLeCat

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for your reply nigel.

I live in a shared grade 2 listed building so fixing a new ariel isn't really an option. I already have a booster and that doesn't seem to help.

When I connect my freeview box to the TV card using a TV out cable I receive significatly more channels, they are just really poor quality.

Its quite strange because Media Center finds quite a few channels but not one is watchable, they are all choppy. :(

Is there anything else I can try?

Cheers

4. nigelbb

nigelbb

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +491