New to HIFI. Need an advice regarding KEF r3

emadgaidi

Novice Member
Reaction score
Hello. I am new to HIFI audio. Last month I bought the NAD M10, they gave me LS50 for free, I was so excited, when I installed everything, it did not sound as good as the reviews! so I bought the KEF R3. They sound way better, but I think the bass is lacking.

Someone told me I need a better Amp and use my M10 as a preamp. I don't want to add a sub as I like everything minimal. Looks and cables wise.

My question is: Will a power amp make the speakers sound better? if yes, what amp should I buy? budget 1000-2000USD.
Thank you.

Speaker wiring correct and in phase?
Type of room they are in?
Furnishings etc.?
Source material?

Until you are confident those are OK then you would be wasting your money throwing more at the problem. What you have should perform well if everything else is sorted.

How can wiring go wrong? I am pretty sure they are correct. Room is a bit of a problem, it is the center of a 2 floors apartment. It's quite big with high ceiling, 6 meters. source is the NAD M10, connected to TV through optical, Mac mini, xbox, PS4 connected to TV, I stream Spotify and Tidal from the M10.

At 100w into 8 ohms and 4 ohms and a damping factor of 190 the M10 should have plenty of power for the R3's so long as they are not in a huge room and you are sitting a long way away form them.

First thing to check, sorry if this is very basic but we have all been there, is to check the speakers are connected to the amp red-red and black-black, nothing will suck the life out of a stereo more than getting the speakers connected out of phase.