New to Hi-Fi, would really love some advice and guidance

Mercurei

Novice Member
Hi all,

I'd like to open by saying to anyone reading this, I sincerely appreciate your time. I am new to Hi-Fi and new to these forums, and after spending a couple of hours reading posts I can see there is an incredible amount of knowledgeable and kind people on here.

The background

My wife and I recently inherited a large and amazing vinyl collection from my father-in-law, and wanting to give it a home that it deserves, I've started putting together a Hi-Fi setup in our living room:

• I had a pair of Yamaha HS50M Active Studio Monitors that I bought from a friend years ago intending to use them as PC speakers. After I realised that it wasn't that simple (and I'd need an external audio interface to run them) they've been sitting in a cupboard for the last 10 years.
  • My brother gave me an Audio Technica turntable (an AT-LP60) that he was no longer using.

After reading up on the HS50M's, I figured they were too good to not use. And knowing that I wanted to add wireless speakers to the mix down the track (and having read a few positive reviews of the Yamaha MusicCast systems) I bought a Yamaha WXC-50 and a decent set of XLR to RCA cables to connect it to the monitors.

Now here is where it all starts to go a bit pear-shaped and I began to realise I was completely out of my depth...

As someone who has never had a decent sound system, I was really surprised at how clear and precise the sound is. But I immediately noticed is that the bass and low range was really lacking.

Next, my wife has specifically requested for me to add a CD player to the setup (so we can dig out the tubs of CD's we have in storage as well).