New to Hi-Fi and looking to build my first decent setup. But what should it be?

lavery

Novice Member
Hi everyone,

as the title says, I'm new to Hi-Fi. My faithful Logitech powered speakers seem to be slowly dying (or at least the subwoofer is) and I was wondering what I should replace them with. So I decided to build my first decent system. Nothing too fancy though. I was thinking around 500 Euros. The following is what I have in mind:

My source is mostly going to be my laptop, which I want to connect to the SMSL AD 18 DAC/amplifier (currently 145 Euros on Amazon Germany).

For speakers, I want to get the ELAC Debut B5.2s (on sale for 250 Euros at a local store). According to the reviews I've watched, the Elacs have good bass, but I might end up adding a subwoofer at a later stage (at which point I would be at around 500 Euros). I mostly listen to electronic music (hardstyle, hardcore, trance etc.), but pop and other stuff as well, and I've heard that having good bass is pretty important for electronic music (as I said, I'm a newbie :)).

What do you think? Am I missing any component? Do you think these speakers will work well with the kind of music I listen to? (most of the reviewers on youtube tend to listen to other genres. Does genre even matter as long as the speakers are at least decent at all frequencies?). I don't need a fancy system, I was actually having a blast with my crappy sub 100 Euros Logitech speakers. But a little upgrade would be nice too ^^

An even cheaper alternative would be to buy better powered speakers, but I don't know if that would be smart. They don't come with a DAC, do they ?(in which case I would still have to buy one and might as well buy passive speakers).

Or I could get cheaper passive speakers but I think the ELAC Debut B5.2s are good value and would be good enough for me to no not want to upgrade them for a long time (I don't know if that would be the case if I were to get cheaper speakers).