1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New to HCPC...

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Melvin, Jan 12, 2003.

1. Melvin

Melvin

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi guys,
    I'm new to HCPC and I would like to get a few questions off my chest. So please be patient and just try to see past my ignorance to the subject in hand. Here goes..

1. Why is the picture from a HCPC better than the picture from a good standalone DVD player?

2. What are the minimum requirements for good picture and sound from a PC? Also, how much will I need to spend?

3. What is the current state of the art in HCPC?

4. Is there a digital output socket (coaxial) at the back of a PC so that I can plug a cable straight into the back of my 5.1 channel amp?

5. Surely a PC is not practical. How do you get around the menu and the basic controls without a remote control. Have you ever tried using a mouse in the dark?

6. I can plug a PC straight into my TV via the VGA input slot. Would this input be superior to the RGB input (using a DVD player)
    on the TV?

Many thanks...
    I would appreciate it if someone could answer as many of my questions as possible.

2. RichardH

RichardH
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    1: Why is the picture from a HCPC better than the picture from a good standalone DVD player?

> Increase in quality is only really for those using plasma or projector, as with the PC you can map the resolution of the output to exactly yhe same as the display device.

2. What are the minimum requirements for good picture and sound from a PC? Also, how much will I need to spend?

> A fairly cheap setup would be fine for HCPC DVD reproduction.

4. Is there a digital output socket (coaxial) at the back of a PC so that I can plug a cable straight into the back of my 5.1 channel amp?