1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

new to dvi....advice please

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by pave, Nov 30, 2004.

  1. pave

    pave
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,568
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +170
    Hi,well i have taken the plunge and just bought the denon 3910,just started to try it out,i have it hooked up to a HS10 with a 10m dvi cable,The cable was very cheap,£50,from sevenoaks

    not impressed with the picture,I am sure i am doing something wrong,could you give me some advice,

    Would buying a more expensive cable improve the pic,at the moment when I try 720 it is very snowy in the pic,is the correct setting for the optimum pic,
    Have tried to find the answer on the forums,but got totally confused :laugh:

    Any help would be great :thumbsup:
     
  2. Alan D

    Alan D
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not familiar with connecting up to an HS10, but one observation about the cable, 10m is rather long for a DVI cable. I use a 2m Supra cable (which cost about £40) and on the box it says that (Supra) cables up to 8m support 720p and 1080i. Their longer (12m) cable will only support 576p/576i.
     
  3. azzo

    azzo
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wokingham
    Ratings:
    +9
    Am I right in saying that you connect these mahines using a component cable? You could see what 720p gives you to see whether its the DVI cable or a problem with one of the mahines?
    Azzo
     
  4. azzo

    azzo
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Messages:
    999
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wokingham
    Ratings:
    +9
    Sorry, ignore my last comment I don't think the denon's upscale via component only DVI.
    Azzo
     
  5. pave

    pave
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,568
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    london
    Ratings:
    +170
    Thanks for the advice,yeah,i thought it might be the length of cable,so i emailed joe,see what he recommmends,guess i will need to spend a few more pounds :)
     
  6. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,987
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +229
    I got a 1m Monster DVi cable. Quality is superb. Picture is also much better than with the old cable I used. The "snow" will go away once you get a better, shorter cable.

    With DVi, the shorter the better.
     

Share This Page

Loading...