New To Dvd Rec ***help***

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by southpaw, Nov 29, 2003.

1. southpaw

southpaw

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi

Hope someone can help??

I was gonna buy a new video as my old panasonic is getting on, anyway after seeing the prices of DVD recorders now I thought it'be better to get a dvd recorder.

Anyway I started looking at a Philips Recorder on Amazon for an amazing price of £234 which isn't even a £100 more than the video I was going to get.

So I came on here to look at some of the discussion and everyone (or most people) seem to recommend the Panasonic RAM recorders. Now I am totally new to DVD recorders but I do like Panasonic as a brand (My Video has been superb over the years).

I only know a little about the DVD rec's but always thought that DVDR was a safer bet for the future than RAM but it seems I was wrong.

Anyway what I want is some help and advice. I want the best but am unsure whether what to buy.

I want the best for the least!!! Like everyone else. My thinking is that if I get a good recorder now at a decent price I can get a better one in the future at a more realistic price.

Sorry for going on but I need some help and advice.

Thanks in advance.

2. Stereo Steve

Stereo Steve

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +7
    I was in the same boat and have just ordered a Panasonic E50 from Comet. it's £249 on the webiste with free delivery which I think beats everywhere else I looked at.

RAM does have compatability problems with other players but is this a problem? The E50 can write to -R as well so if you want to record something that you want to lend to somebody else, do it on -R.

Personally, I will get a RAM burner for my PC and burn everything to RAM on the E50, edit it on the PC and then burn it from that onto -R. Then I can store it cheaply and lend it to others if I feel like it. Also cheap to make a backup of anything you want to keep.