New to Digital SLR's......

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by BIGRED, Apr 26, 2007.

1. BIGRED

BIGRED

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +35
    Sorry for starting another one of these threads :( but i am looking for some advice regarding my first slr ....... really enjoy taking pictures ( i find my self composing shots in my head while walking about ..... sad i know) but i have only been using my compact canon camera and think its time i moved on ...

I've been thinking about getting the Canon 400d , first off what is a good price to pay for this and what kind of lenses would i be looking at (land scapes , portraits and action shots) I'm kinda new to all this and know very little about lenses etc

Again sorry if this has all been too vauge , feel free to ignore !!!!

2. 1LeeDenton

1LeeDenton

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,820
    Hi BIGRED,

You'll find plenty of threads regarding first steps into DSLR (I've started/read numerous of them), and the Canon 400d is indeed one of the very popular choices for people getting into the photography game.

Personally, I'm going for a Nikon D40 due to the budget I have to play with, and I think the general thought on this subject is to narrow your choices down to a few that you think will be suitable, and then get to Jessops/Currys and have a play with them. I did, and was hooked on the D40 as soon as I picked it up - for me, the Canon 400d just didn't 'feel' right in my hand - personal preference plays a big part.

With regards to price, I would recommend you keep a regular eye on www.camerapricebuster.co.uk who provide daily updates on all things Canon and Nikon, from cameras/lenses etc. It's a very good website indeed.

Best of luck :thumbsup:

3. senu

senu
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,811
    Hi BIGRED

You will really be sorry you started this off when the info starts coming:eek:!