1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

new to AVforum please help

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by holty2503, Jul 24, 2005.

  1. holty2503

    holty2503
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scunthorpe
    Ratings:
    +1
    hi all i have just ordered my new recorder its a RDR-HX510S and was just wondering will i be able to watch sky digital and record another channel on sky at the same time just like you can on sky+?????? :lease:
     
  2. Greg Hook

    Greg Hook
    Moderator & Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    20,197
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    In a secret location with Jennifer Lawrence
    Ratings:
    +7,072
    No. It makes no difference what the recorder is. Normal Sky Digital only has one channel at once. So unless you have another LNB/box etc you are stuck with one channel at once.

    p.s Welcome to the forums :thumbsup:
     
  3. holty2503

    holty2503
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scunthorpe
    Ratings:
    +1
    cheers GregHook for your fast responce thats a shame,i still carnt wait for it to come though
     
  4. JayCee

    JayCee
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    19,751
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Lanarkshire
    Ratings:
    +1,876
    Not if you only have Sky digital.
    The reason you can record one prog and view another on Sky+ is because it has two tuners.
     
  5. holty2503

    holty2503
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scunthorpe
    Ratings:
    +1
    maybe if i got sky multiroom would that work??? sorry for all the questions :suicide:
     
  6. Zebadiah Twine

    Zebadiah Twine
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    56
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    You can watch a different channel in another room but not in the room that you're recording in.
     
  7. JethroUK

    JethroUK
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes

    with 2 tuners you can record from one tuner and watch the other
     
  8. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,208
    Have you thought about actually getting Sky+?
     
  9. holty2503

    holty2503
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scunthorpe
    Ratings:
    +1
    not really a few of my friends have sky+ and seem to have loads of problems with it and my sony has come now and im very impressed with it :thumbsup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...