New to automation....

Discussion in 'Smart Home, Climate Control & Security Forum' started by Danbo, Dec 31, 2006.

1. Danbo

Danbo

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6
    Im hoping one of you knowledgeable types can point me in the right direction as I am completely new to all this...

I am wanting to buy a universal remote (possibly a harmony) and use it to control all of my AV equipment and also the lighting throughout the house if that is possible.

I would ideally like remote dimming in the living room and the bedroom controlled with the remote and also to turn the neons behind the LCD on and off.

Can someone give me any ideas on what my options are please and whether this is all possible?

Thanks in advance.

2. nickp8

nickp8

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +144
  3. Danbo

Danbo

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6
    Yep Ive already looked there (seems like the Harmony controls most things). I'm more after ideas on what sort of automation equipment is best with regards to the lights etc...

Dolmia X10 stuff worth getting?

4. laserdave

laserdave

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +12
    Iv`e only been using x10 gear for a month or so and recommend some of these links for getting started info

http://www.simplyautomate.co.uk/GuideToSA.asp (i-domus owned site)

http://www.automatedhome.co.uk/index.php (dedicated HA forum).

In addition to some lamp/appliance modules you will need to get ir or rf codes from your harmony onto the mains wiring (IR 7243 for ir or TM13 for rf)