1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New to all this - need advice please

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by sionos, Nov 12, 2003.

1. sionos

sionos
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    All, I am new to all this stuff. As such I would love your help on starting some home cinema stuff. Currently my setup comprises of 2 Mission 731i speakers connected to a Harmon Kardon HK610 amp which i use for music and for tv i have a 32" Sony Widescreen tv complete with two bundled satellite speakers. The connecting speaker cables have been changed to some Gale XL315 cables. What I need to know is that if i buy an av receiver (Sony STRDE695) will my four speakers provide a good entry level surround sound coupled with my Sony DVP NS705 dvd player? Secondly as the dvd player is SACD compatible and the receiver is supposedly SACD ready will this all fit in nice or is there another avenue or tree that I should be barking up? Cheers all, your help, honesty and advice would be greatly appreciated.

2. mike_cummi

mike_cummi

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello, welcome to the slippery slope.