New to all this....help!!

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by twotonemark, Jul 13, 2003.

1. twotonemark

twotonemark

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

I've been reading through the forum on and off for a few weeks and was going to buy a Sony Dav800 system but changed my mind and have ordered a Pioneer DCS 303 from http://www.homecinemaheaven.com .
    Have also ordered a new Toshiba 28" tv (28zh36) http://www.home-entertainment.toshi...NZDTA?OpenDocument&Product=WEBR-5NZDTA&Stand=.

I'll get to the point now!
    1)I want to now if I buy R1 dvds will there be any difference in picture or sound compared to R2 version when played using the above equipment??

2)Anyone bought from HomeCinemaHeaven and anybody got opinions on Toshiba TVs for picture quality (100hz).

Sorry if this is a no-brainer but I'm new to the world of AV.

Any help much appreciated. (Sorry if I've posted this in the wrong section.

Cheers,
    Mark:)

2. Hawklord

Hawklord

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +286
    It comes down to each indevidual disc you buy. Discs are often issued with different PQ and sound on different regions. I tend to use dvdcompare to see which version gives best PQ/sound for the price. Region 1 films are NTSC whereas REG2 dvd's are PAL. Your TV is new and should cope with both formats.
    The bulk of my collection are reg1 mainly due to the fact that dvd's tend to be cheaper to import and are released a couple of months before the reg2 is issued. Often there are many variations of the same film available. Each with different sound and picture formats. Directors cut and special editions are prime examples. Try getting disc that are anamorphic and have DTS sound tracks . These tend to be better than DD and non anomrphic transferes but there are exceptions to this rule.

3. Arthur Dent

Arthur Dent

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Greetings