Question New television after 7 years with a Panasonic Plasma...

zarusama

Novice Member
Reaction score
Hello there, I'm new to this forum and I joined this community to ask your opinion about my next investment. I've been using a Panasonic TX-P42G20 since 2011 and while being very attached to it, I'm ready to jump in the 4K era, especially for HDR contents.

Knowing that an LG OLED is way over my available budget, I tried looking for a good television model under the 600£ limit, and I have found this TCL 55DP648 55 on amazon uk, but I can't find any review on the internet, probably because the british model number is different from the american one. Can you tell me if this is a good television or if you would suggest me something different at the same price? In my case, the television is mainly used to play console and pc games (through hdmi) and watch netflix/bluray.

Thanks a bunch :)

— As an Amazon Associate, AVForums earns from qualifying purchases —
TCL haven't previously sold from UK retailers so it's interesting that Amazon is saying they're going to launch it later this month.

It's likely the replacement for last year's European model P6046 which I believe did get a couple of (non-english) reviews.

There's not a lot of HDR hardware ability in that budget yet, I wouldn't be in any hurry to upgrade from a decent quality TV. I'd give it another few years for the standards to get into place and the backlight production to go into full swing.

TCL haven't previously sold from UK retailers so it's interesting that Amazon is saying they're going to launch it later this month.

It's likely the replacement for last year's European model P6046 which I believe did get a couple of (non-english) reviews.

There's not a lot of HDR hardware ability in that budget yet, I wouldn't be in any hurry to upgrade from a decent quality TV. I'd give it another few years for the standards to get into place and the backlight production to go into full swing.