1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

new system

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by smudger, Feb 21, 2005.

1. smudger

smudger
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am a newbie to av forums, i have been reading various threads for a few weeks now. I am about to buy my first plasma, i am after a 42", but am undecided which one to get. I have about £2000 to spend have looked at sony KEP42M1S and lg RZ 42PX11 are these any good or are there better out there for this money, allready have a separate surround sound, phillips dvd recorder, x box, and freeview but considering upgrading to sky....please help as mind is in bits.. :lease:

2. Piers

Piers

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +227
    Welcome to the forum :clap: :clap:

Try taking a look at the sponsors ads - click on "our advertisers" at the top of the page. For £2,000 you will get a really good plasma but it probably won't be either of the ones that you have mentioned :D

3. smudger

smudger
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    i have been looking through the threads and is the Panasonic TH-42PW7B a better plasma than the ones above

4. t0by

t0by

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +7
    The Panny is a highly regarded plasma on these forums. Suggest you take a look at this thread - its long, but well worth a read.

For what its worth, I have been lurking here since last July. I've posted a hundred plus threads and read ten times that, demoed 5 different units, and my system is due for delivery tomorrow.

Read some stuff, but do go and demo! Its absolutely vital! There are a lot of differing opinions round here and, whilst they are immensely useful, they can also confuse you - if you see the options for yourself you will be able to make an educated decision rather than an educated guess!