new system advice for a virgin speaker type / location

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Speakers' started by mipevo6, Jan 3, 2007.

1. mipevo6

mipevo6

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +22
    Folks,

Total newbie to this and looking for some advice.

I am looking to invest in an LCD, AV amp, and 5.1 speakers for my tv room.

Here is what I am considering:-

46" LCD 1080P TV (sony W or X 2000 probably)

Sony 1200ES AV amp (looks like a decent start)

Not sure which speakers to go for, budget can be quite flexible if I can make a big difference (250-600)

However.

my room is rectangular with a bay window and a fireplace, TV sits in the corner between the Bay window on the west wall and the chimney which is slightly off center on the north wall.

The 2 sofa's are on the east (15ish) feet away from TV and south walls (10-12 feet away from TV)

My main seating position is obviously on the south wall sofa.

So my questions:-

Given the setup above...

1) Any alternate amps I should look at
    2) Reccomended speaker 5.1 package ?
    3) where the hell do i locate the speakers.

I could mount them in each corner of the room and angle them into the center or point them at the usual seating position ?

Would this work ?

Where do I put the center ? (under tv ? pointing into room ? )

Totally lost as you can imagine......

Anywhere I can have a decent read up about it ? or any advice ?

cheers

2. abspag

abspag

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Quite a problem the room seems to dictate the placement, you will need to try different positions within the limits of the room/screen and the waf. Do audition different speakers the next step should be a visit s good retailer and seek advice they really are worth their salt. Trust me buying without hearing can result in dissatisfaction and cost more I know because I did do this thought a good deal on the internet would suit it did'nt . Hope this helps

3. stevos

stevos

Products Owned: