New speaker advice for newbie please

Bing75

Novice Member
Hi guys,

First post here and I'm a complete audio newbie so please take it easy on me.

I quiet fancy some new speakers now that I have a decent space of my own and making 'noise' isn't a huge issue.

I've been looking at some powered speakers to sit on my desk and and will primarily run through my Mac computer, having said that I may connect a turntable to them at some point but lets see.

Does anyone have any recommendations for speakers budget max £400-£500ish.

I'm thinking of the following:

Klipsch R-51PM Bookshelf Speakers

These sixes look and spec up amazing but are way over budget

I know nothing about this brand btw.

Edifier R1700BT
Amazon product

Yamaha HS8 Active Studio

These Yamaha's seem awesome but abit overkill for what I need, also can you use a studio monitor as a daily speaker?

I listen to allot of

Reggae mainly old school and some modern (mainly vinyls)
Old school hip hop
Bhangra and some Indian music mostly modern

So I need deep bass without a muffled and flat top end and decent mids.

Music is usually played through my Mac whist I work via Spotify, soundcloud, you tube music etc or vinyls.

Currently I use the Harmon Kardon soundsticks whch sound pretty good but I need something meatier I think, oh and with Bluetooth connectivity

Sorry for the long post, some advice would be great.

thanks

B

password1

Distinguished Member
whats the rest of your system, including amp?

what size room?

Klipsh speakers tend to be relatively sensitive and in theory dont require as high powered amps to drive to the same volume

i would probably avoid those budget edifier speakers for serious music listening.

Bing75

Novice Member
The speakers are going to be sat on my desk (solid oak worktop) and connected to my Macbook hopefully by Bluetooth.

There's no amp at present hence why I'm looking at powered speakers.

The room is about 6m x 6m.