1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Sony KV32CS70 + Freeview picture sizing?

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by macta, Oct 1, 2004.

1. macta

macta

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi - there, finally took took the plunge and bought a widescreen sony TV (my old 20" philips just kept going).

After reading all of the helpful tips on this forum, I went for the sony KV32CS70 for its good reviews and reasonable price.

I'm new to wide-screen tv's, so am still working out how to use it - but am a bit confused by the way the TV works with my sony DT800 freeview reciever.

When I switch through channels with the freeview remote, BBC1 is widescreen, 2, ITV, 4 - but then Channel 5 goes to 4:3 and then the next channel is widescreen and then some of the others go back to 4:3?

Is this normal? I have set the freeview box to use 4:16 sizing (not 4:3 like with my old tv) and have set the output to PAL (considered auto?)

The TV itself I have set to WideScreen sizing (have tried Smart) - but channel 5 keeps going back to the smaller size and I have to use the remote to make it become full screen again? If I don't use freeview input but just the arial pass through - the TV doesn't exhibit this behavior?

Is this normal behavior - as I find it very annoying?

I also notice that when moving between channels it also takes a long time to show the full image - I don't recall my old TV having such a long delay with the same freeview box (is the image sizing logic slowing things down? ).

When I've got things tweeked - I'll post my perceptions of the TV, I just want to make sure I've got it all set up correctly first?