1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Sonicstage 3.1 with HD5 downloaded

Discussion in 'Headphones, Earphones & Portable Music' started by sacd, Apr 10, 2005.

  1. sacd

    sacd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +2
    I noticed that the new HD5 comes with sonicstage 3.1. I only have sonicstage 3.0. I have downloaded 3.1 from a jap website but it will not install due to a language problem. I wonder what the difference is between the 2 different versions? Does anyone know how to get past the language problem so I can have a look?
     
  2. Steven

    Steven
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    36,419
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +6,211
    Presumably HD5 support, Playlist feature added + others that aren't in HD1/3
     
  3. chromosome

    chromosome
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,309
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Midlands
    Ratings:
    +42
    from a minidisc forum...

    New features:

    1) SonicStage 3.1 will feature an MP3 encoder.

    2) Recordings set to WAV format sourced from microphones and analog input can be transferred to SonicStage in their original WAV format.

    3) Option to auto-start SonicStage when a Hi-MD unit is connected via USB.
     
  4. mcfarfs

    mcfarfs
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,367
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells
    Ratings:
    +12
    I expect it will be very similar to SS 3.0. As LFC_SL says, it will just be changed slightly so it recognises the HD5 as a device.

    If you remember, the difference between SS 2.1 and 2.3 was minute. 2.3 just had a minor change to allow the transfer of mp3s without the need to convert to Atrac.

    But then from 2.3 - 3.0, there were many differences which actually effected the useability of the software. So I expect the difference between 3.0 and 3.1 will be similarly small to the difference between 2.1 and 2.3.
     
  5. Alcahest

    Alcahest
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Messages:
    52
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    so if i understand correctly, we will be forced to use SS3.1 to put MP3s on the unit otherwise they won't be DRM protected and won't work, right?

    We can't just drag and drop from Windows Explorer onto the drive directly if we want the unit to be able to play them, correct?

    Also, would anyone know if it is possible to navigate by "folder" on the HD5?
    I'm used to the gigabeat navigation that is done through folders and subfolders, very intuitive and easy. Is such a navi mode possible on the HD5?

    Lastly, can you play files stored on the HD5 from within Sonic Stage after they have been "wrapped with DRM"?

    I like the removable battery and the fact that a lcd remote control is an option but i don't know if I reall want to trade my gigabeat G40 (40GB) for this HD5 30GB...

    And with the new Iaudio X5, the choice is even harder!
    Later,

    Alcahest
     
  6. sacd

    sacd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +2
    So is it worth trying to install 3.1 if you have 3.0 with the MP3 patch? I don't think so! Unless you can read Japaneese!!
     
  7. lockers

    lockers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    155
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    High Wycombe
    Ratings:
    +9
    Has it been confirmed that the HD5 does proper playlist functionality in that it doesn't put multiple copies of the tracks on the unit?

    Or is Sony just using a different name and keeping the same system?

    Anyone know?
     
  8. mcfarfs

    mcfarfs
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,367
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells
    Ratings:
    +12
    I'm pretty sure it supports playlists properly. If you look at the picture on amazon, it does have "Playlist" under the menu.

    Anyway, surely Sony will have learnt their lesson by now?!
     
  9. sacd

    sacd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +2
    has anyone succesfully installed SS3.1 yet? If someone did then we would know if the new playlist function works on the HD3.
     
  10. sacd

    sacd
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2004
    Messages:
    295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +2
    anyone?
     
  11. Kaledii

    Kaledii
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2002
    Messages:
    264
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NW
    Ratings:
    +17
    SS3.1 english edition is not yet available for download. Keep an eye out on the Connect.com and connect-europe.com websites for the latest versions. The european edition has not been updated from 2.3 yet, so I expect it will very soon be updated to 3.1
    BTW you can get the MP3 ripper for 3.0 from Sony Germany - I've successfully installed it on my machine.
     
  12. mcfarfs

    mcfarfs
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,367
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells
    Ratings:
    +12
    Could you give us a link please?
     
  13. Hasselhoffia

    Hasselhoffia
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    MP3 Encoder plug-in for Sonicstage 3.0.

    Gives you the option of encoding MP3's at:

    256kbps, 224kbps, 192kbps, 150kbps, 128kbps, 112kbps, 96kbps
     
  14. mcfarfs

    mcfarfs
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,367
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Tunbridge Wells
    Ratings:
    +12
    LOL!

    I just searched google for "sonicstage mp3 encoder",whilst waiting for a reply, and this thread came up on the 1st results page anyway, with the link I was searching for!

    Cheers Hasselhoffia.
     
  15. Hasselhoffia

    Hasselhoffia
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You're welcome Mcfarfs, it's refreshing to hear from someone that uses search functions.
     
  16. Hasselhoffia

    Hasselhoffia
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Looks like a English version turned up: Sonicstage 3.1 in English

    It's apparently the English-AsiaPacific version, whatever that means. Beware that it'll probably stop you accessing the Connect sites for your region?

    Not too remarkable changes apart from MP3 encoding and using CDDB for CD info (they've ditched the other one?).

    -----------------------
    Improvements of SonicStage Ver. 3.1 Upgrade Program :
    1. Ripping Audio CD into MP3 format with the following settings:
    - Format: MPEG-1 Audio Layer-3
    - Bit rate: 320kbps/256kbps/224kbps/192kbps/160kbps/128kbps/112kbps/96kbps
    - Sampling frequency: 44.1kHz
    2. Tracks recorded from microphone or analog inputs on Hi-MD devices can be uploaded to SonicStage and saved in WAV (PCM) format.
    3. The availability of new functions such as Create an ATRAC CD, Create an Audio CD and Create an MP3 CD.
    4. Tracks can be converted at a specified bit rate and transferred to other audio devices or media.
    5. SonicStage launches automatically when an ATRAC Audio Device (e.g. ATRAC HDD) is connected to the computer via USB.
    6. Tracks in My Library are easier to manage. The enhancements includes:
    - Shows additional track information such as released year and composer
    - Option to to add or delete by right clicking on the index list (e.g. Artist, Genre, Track Length)
    - Re-order index with the drag and drop functionality
    7. Album or track editing feature has been renamed to Playlist (previously, “My Compilation Album).
    8. An unlimited number of track in My Library can be selected for transfer to other audio devices or media.
    9. Functionality to connect to CDDB (A distributed network CD database that contains information about most audio CDs in circulation) is available.
    -----------------
    Full support page here
     
  17. Akasan

    Akasan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2005
    Messages:
    68
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanx. Just installed this. No access to Connect (but I never used that anyway so no loss. When i get my hd5 i'll just switch to that version.) It rips cds to mp3 really fast.
     
  18. hughesy

    hughesy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Irish in Oz
    Ratings:
    +13
    Is there anyway of getting SS3.1 without having a computer connected to the web?

    My PC at home is not connected, but i download from college?
     
  19. Inter

    Inter
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    [/QUOTE]

    I don't think so - SS installer needs to download it from a server.
     
  20. hughesy

    hughesy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    846
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Irish in Oz
    Ratings:
    +13
    Thought so, thanks. :(
     
  21. Hasselhoffia

    Hasselhoffia
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Aah, they're still using Gracenote CDDB. Anyhoo, the US Connect add-on can be installed if you want it.
     
  22. Hasselhoffia

    Hasselhoffia
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes indeedy. Just grab the components using the URL and take note of how they are executed. Bear in mind that you may not have to install the MDAC, Direct X, the Jet database components etc etc if you're already up to date.
     
  23. timboking

    timboking
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The question I think, is do i upgrade to the HD5 when it comes out?

    I love my HD3, but lack of playlists is driving me ballistic. And what do I then do with my HD3, will anyone want to buy it with the HD5 on the market?
     

Share This Page

Loading...