Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

new sky

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by stu mcc, May 10, 2005.

  1. stu mcc

    stu mcc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +28
    Mornin' all,
    sorry if this has been covered before but I'm new to all this Sky malarkey; basically if I subscribe to Sky what make will the supplied box be? Will I be able to connect it to a surround sound amp and a projector?
    Thanks in advance,

    stu
     
  2. stu mcc

    stu mcc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +28
    do any of the boxes have stereo outs and s-video as well as scarts? I've been looking at various suppliers and all the threads but info seems to be a bit thin on the ground!

    stu
     
  3. hufartd

    hufartd
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    454
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +96
    the grundig boxes have s- video and analogue sound .
    I think all the sky+ boxes have s-video and digital and analogue sound.
    other than that i'm guessing..
     
  4. Bluevanman

    Bluevanman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Grundig boxes are no longer supplied. If you want s-video and dolby sound your only option is to go for Sky+, but remember that 5.1 is only broadcast on Skymovies 1,2 and 3. Everything else will be in prologic.
     
  5. stu mcc

    stu mcc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +28
    thanks for that chaps, Bluevanman I don't want the film channels (at the moment!) so prologic will be good enough - is there a choice of makes for the digiboxes?

    cheers, stu
     
  6. Bluevanman

    Bluevanman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry,no. The make you get is all dependant on what the guy has got on his van, and on stock rotation.Currently only the Sky+ has the ability to deliver anything other than stereo and scart connections.
     
  7. Greg Hook

    Greg Hook
    Moderator & Reviewer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2001
    Messages:
    22,740
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    In a secret location with Jennifer Lawrence
    Ratings:
    +9,524
    As vanman says you don't really get a choice with the boxes, unless you go to an independant installer and order it that way.

    Also if you can, steer well clear of the Amstrad V2 Sky+ box, it sucks big time!
     
  8. PeterKay

    PeterKay
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    All the sky+ boxes have s video and Opt digital
     
  9. stu mcc

    stu mcc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +28
    thanks everyone, at least I now know what the connections are.

    stu
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice