New Sky HD website

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by inkinoo, Mar 11, 2006.

  1. inkinoo

    inkinoo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,355
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London, England
    Ratings:
    +260
    Never been to the Sky HD website before but followed a link from a BBC News article and it 404ed.

    Went to hd.sky.com and was presented with confirmation there would be a subscription for HD and a back view of the box.

    Am I just slow in seeing the site or is this new?
     
  2. neilmcl

    neilmcl
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +292
    You're just tooooo slow. :)
     
  3. inkinoo

    inkinoo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,355
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London, England
    Ratings:
    +260
    Considering I work in an office that has a Sky HD box, I'm not *that* slow :)
     
  4. neilmcl

    neilmcl
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +292
    Why have you got a Sky HD box then?
     
  5. inkinoo

    inkinoo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,355
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London, England
    Ratings:
    +260
    Work for a tv production company that has a good relationship with Sky.
     
  6. neilmcl

    neilmcl
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +292
    So how come you've got a box then? Is it in use at all, are Sky actually outputting HD over it yet?
     
  7. andrewjh009

    andrewjh009
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,646
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +67
    I'll believe it when i see pictures:thumbsdow
     
  8. inkinoo

    inkinoo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,355
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London, England
    Ratings:
    +260
    With very little detective work you should be able to work out which company I work for and why we have a good relationship with Sky. You will then begin to see why postiing photos is ill advised.
     
  9. Knyght_byte

    Knyght_byte
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    11,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Harrow, NW London
    Ratings:
    +600

    and if you had a very good relationship with sky and had a HD box you wouldnt be bothering to check websites as you'd have all the necessary details, and posting it here would breach a contract you would have had to sign.....

    or in other words you are most likely just trying to stir things up :)
     
  10. andrewjh009

    andrewjh009
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,646
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +67
    would be useful to see a more in-the-flesh pic though no?:hiya:
     
  11. inkinoo

    inkinoo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,355
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London, England
    Ratings:
    +260
    Indeed you are right that there is very little I can say about the box without breaching contract, hence why I asked if the details shown on the Sky website were new or not. The 404 from the Beeb link ...

    http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/entertainment/4793774.stm

    ... made me wonder if Sky had recently changed their site.
     
  12. Knyght_byte

    Knyght_byte
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    11,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Harrow, NW London
    Ratings:
    +600
    well i work for one of the biggest mediagroups in the UK who are also a finance group (any guesses?) and we've not been given a HD box yet...given we are fairly close in some regards to the big sky man himself i'd love to know who you work for because you give no clue at all, unless u mean you are a RM subsidiary?
     
  13. inkinoo

    inkinoo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    3,355
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London, England
    Ratings:
    +260
    In the words of the classified section, you have a PM :rolleyes:
     
  14. Knyght_byte

    Knyght_byte
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    11,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Harrow, NW London
    Ratings:
    +600
    as do you...lol
     
  15. daniel.godfrey

    daniel.godfrey
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    32
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Calm Down! Calm Down!

    If you bother to go back to the top of the thread, he didn't start it to show off, he simply asked what had happened to the HD website!

    It was only when someone called him "slow" that he revealed that his company has an HD box.

    Good grief.......

    I want Sky HD and I want it NOW as much as anyone, but let's not get so tense we start flexing over nothing eh?

    Daniel
     
  16. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    What does it matter whether he has a Sky HD box or not ? Some people must already have seen them, because they're not made on planet Mars. Sometimes these forums really resemble a pack of wolves waiting for the next rabbit to wander by.
     
  17. daniel.godfrey

    daniel.godfrey
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2004
    Messages:
    32
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the offer inkinoo!

    For now, I'd be very happy to know if you're receiving transmissions on your HD box and whether the look great!

    If so consider me jealous - official.

    Daniel
     
  18. White Noise

    White Noise
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    340
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Huddersfield
    Ratings:
    +6
    I don't know if anything is actually being broadcasted in HD that a Sky HD Box could receive.

    I was on Soccer AM as a fan of the week last week and the cameras had no mention of HD on them, plus the plasmas that were showing what was going out were only SD. Thought maybe it wouldn't be on the HD Sports channel in that case, but noticed this morning that it was.

    Perhaps they didn't see it necessary to have HD plasmas for those purposes in the studio, and maybe the cameras don't have any mention of HD in the name or decoration.

    Didn't get chance to ask anyone about a launch date, but did get told they may be interested in me sending them some motion graphics to use. I'll ask them when they'll be going out and if they need to be in Hi Def by a certain date ;)
     
  19. lynx

    lynx
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,653
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    It always rains.
    Ratings:
    +302
    Moderator note: Some posts have been deleted as they were simply rude and inappropriate to the flow of the thread.Please treat each other with a degree of maturity when posting.
     
  20. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    I expect that Sky are running test transmissions, but they may only be viewable by the chosen few.
     
  21. Howard Pitfield

    Howard Pitfield
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    815
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +17
    Yes - several sites have listing for the txponders - but FTA MPEG4 boxes can't lock onto them (such as my Humax PRHD1000). They don't have any PIDS in listings which is probably why they won't show up - grrrrr.

    H
     

Share This Page

Loading...