Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

New Sky+, any details?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Lynchpin, Apr 29, 2003.

  1. Lynchpin

    Lynchpin
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anyone know what HDD is being used in the new Sky+ box?

    The reason is that I have TiVo and am changing to Sky+, the problem is that there are none of the current boxes available so I'm gettting one of the new ones. Now, being a brave sould (idiot? ;)) I'm gonna upgrade the HDD as soon as it comes through the door. My worry is that it uses the 2.5 HDD instead of a bog standard drive and I so want 120Gb in there. ;)

    Ta

    K.
     
  2. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,974
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    I opened "version 2" Sky+ almost as soon as the installer had left.

    In the centre of box it has a Maxtor QuickView Fireball 3.5 ATA/133 40GB hard disc.

    I couldn't see them using 2.5" drive in new cheaper to make Sky+ box as they are much more expensive than 3.5" ones; and there are plenty of PVR/console hard discs like this one available.

    StooMonster
     
  3. Lynchpin

    Lynchpin
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Excellent, ta StooMonster that helps a lot!

    One Maxtor 120Gb comin' right up methinks ;)

    The reason that i asked was that the new TwinView does use the smaller format which is a PITA for me as I got the Mrs one, save her clogging up my PVR with Eastenders and all that drivel!:D

    Or at least...that was my excuse :devil:

    K.
     
  4. obiwan

    obiwan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Messages:
    319
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +5
    Is it easy to upgrade hdd in skyplus box?

    What configs are needed etc??

    Im tinking about getting it, but the hdd is small isnt it!

    thx
     
  5. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,974
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    40GB is approximately 20 hours of recording, 120GB is approximately 60 hours, I am sure you can work out 80GB. ;)

    Very easy, you need two things:
    1. Screwdriver with "tamper proof" torx 10 head (star with hole in the middle) to open digibox. The heads can be picked up at any decent DIY store (I paid £5), or even ScrewFix (£10).

    2. Replacement Maxtor HD, of either 80GB or 120GB flavour. Check other threads for recommendations.

    Five minute job, following steps:
    1. Turn off power, remove mains-cable
    2. Open digibox, and remove case
    3. Unscrew 40GB drive, unplug and remove it
    4. Plug in new drive and screw back into place
    5. Replace case and screws
    6. Reconnect power
    7. Sky+ will automatically format HD (no bigger than 120GB) and be ready for use.

    StooMonster
     
  6. obiwan

    obiwan
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Messages:
    319
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Devon
    Ratings:
    +5
    Does everything work OK, remaining space etc.
     
  7. jont

    jont
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    4,249
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    near Aylesbury
    Ratings:
    +550
    All works fine except the %age space indicator can sometimes give a false reading but for some reason the bar displays OK ??

    I looked for a fluid bearing drive when I upgraded mine last year as was a lot quieter than a standard ... might be worth looking to specify ...

    Jon
     
  8. NicolasB

    NicolasB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    6,453
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Emily's Shop
    Ratings:
    +898
    When choosing a hard disk for a Sky+ box you also need to bear in mind operating temperature - it gets very hot inside a Sky+ box, and a drive that runs hot can overheat to the point of failiure.

    There are unconfirmed reports that some 7200rpm drives cause problems because they don't spin up to operational speed fast enough and nthe box thinks the disk isn't there....
     
  9. RobsterD

    RobsterD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2000
    Messages:
    891
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +12
    Been running a Maxtor 4R120L0 bought from Dabs for a couple of weeks now,installed a hard drive cooler TK48C from Maplins,fits nicely below the hard drive in the enclosure,connected this to a fan mate A56AA from Maplins to decrease fan noise.Had no complaints yet with regards to noise levels of the hard drive and funtionality of Sky +.I'll keep my fingers crossed !
     
  10. RichMercer

    RichMercer
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I might get one of them setups. What did you do re. cabling the fan/fan mate? I see they have different connections. Did you just get an adapter? I think I'm going to get one of these so I can keep an eye on the temp in there too. Only a few £'s so it can't hurt.
     
  11. RobsterD

    RobsterD
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2000
    Messages:
    891
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Southampton
    Ratings:
    +12
    Did buy a power adapter at the same time from Maplins,but ended up cutting and soldering the correct connectors onto the fan-mate,tested the work with an old PC psu with a spare hard drive and everything connected so I could get an idea of fan/hard drive noise etc.Once happy installed into Sky +,just lookin thro Maplins catalogue I'm sure you could connect the fan-mate by use of various adapters and thus negate the need to cut and solder.
    Good idea re temp sensor !
    Rob
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice