new shipment of denon 3800s arrived ? (contd)

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Jasonjo, Jan 9, 2003.

  1. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,649
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    Well, got my replacement player...not good news, I hope you chaps have better luck with your ones :(

    The player appears to have a fault with the AV1 scart socket - has anyone else seen problems with the AV1 Scart socket when set to RGB causing lots of horizontal interference type lines scrolling down the screen??? tried several different scart leads and put my old player back in with RGB fine???

    Oh well...back to denon then...will have to wait to see what the new player has before and after firmware upgrade...

    The wait goes on :(

    JJ
     
  2. Audionyx

    Audionyx
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    667
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East Yorkie Porky
    Ratings:
    +20
    Jason,

    For your information, my third 3800 had interference lines that ran at 45 degrees across the picture. That was the final straw for me so I went for an Arcam DV27.

    I recently pursuaded a friend to get a DV88+ having compared it to 3800 with his Pioneer 50" plasma. He is delighted with the PQ and trouble free machine!

    No doubt the Denon is a fine unit (I went through 3!) but is it really worth soldiering on with all these 3800's???

    Good luck with your decision :)


    Darren
     
  3. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,649
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    I will give it another go, as it may just be the case that I just got a rogue player. I really hope it is not a comptatbility problem with my panny TV and RGB. I doubt his though as I have had no problems with other players and RGB (had quite a few over the years)

    It's a shame as 'overall' the 3800 fits my requirements better than any of the other players around...just glad I got it from my local dealer now and not off the net..phew!!!!

    Cheers for your comments though Darren...

    JJ
     
  4. Audionyx

    Audionyx
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    667
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    East Yorkie Porky
    Ratings:
    +20
    It certainly pays to go local. Sevenoaks in Hull have been fantastic and have bent over backwards to ensure I am happy.

    Best of luck with your pursuit - I hope you get a perfect unit next time!

    Darren
     
  5. alpha10

    alpha10
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    3,197
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +192
    JJ

    I doubt the problem is between the Tv and the 3800, I have panny 32" tv using RGB with my 3800 and the picture looks great, and if you've used other RGB sources before…..

    May I ask why you've had to replace your first one, was it skipping??

    If it was then that goes against Denon saying they haven't seen the problem in the UK??

    Cheers
     
  6. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,649
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    alpha - what model of 32" panny you got?

    I had only had the players a few days when I started hearing things about the laser pickup and chroma bug being fixed (i hadn't even tried it - wish I had now!!!) , so I thought (as my dealer is cool) that I would be better safe than sorry and decided to change it then, rather than send it back in at a later date...

    JJ
     
  7. alpha10

    alpha10
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    3,197
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +192
    Now your asking, I think from a distant memory (5 years ago now..) it was a Tx32PL2

    I've had no problems with RGB, the only time I've heard about this sort of lines is if you were running it with the SCART going through the VCR??

    I've decided to go the other way with my player (1000+ S/N) and see if I have any problems and then take it from there, I've had two films so far with audio dropouts but that is all.........(touch wood etc.)
     
  8. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,649
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +112
  9. alpha10

    alpha10
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    3,197
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +192
  10. The Hemulen

    The Hemulen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +9
    Does your TXW32D2DP buzz loudly from inside the cabinet? In fact it radiated so much 100Hz scanning coil magnetic field that I could pick it up on my Metal Coned Monitor Audio 12i's placed on the cabinet!!
    Was a nice set though :)
     
  11. alpha10

    alpha10
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    3,197
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +192
    It does buzz a little bit but not much, I actually turn the flicker control to off, this takes it down to 50hz and gets rid of those annoying 100Hz movement smears....

    It may be an old set but I have still not seen a picture on a new telly that would make me swap....

    I'm going plasma next now they are becoming a reasonable price..

    Cheers

    PS sorry to the moderators JJ's thread has digressed..
     
  12. grumpyguy

    grumpyguy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Messages:
    251
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    I own a Panny TX36PF10. That also buzzed like hell when I first got it. It is a known fault, which my dealer came out to fix with some sealant of some sort. he had actual instructions from panasonic to say wher it needed to be placed, and now its fine.
     
  13. El Nota

    El Nota
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I own a DENON DVD-2800MK2 player and when i use the AV1 scart socket and set RGB out, i have the same problems.

    I think firmware isn´t the problem. I´ve updated it and interference goes on.

    It may be a problem between TV and player. I´m using S-video out and i´m very happy.

    I´ve seen many problems between tv and dvd player when set RGB out with several marks. In fact, my friend has got tv and player SONY and he can´t use RGB out.

    Bye.
     
  14. Mr Merrick

    Mr Merrick
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    457
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +13
    The horizontal interference lines were also very visible on my Panasonic TX-36PF10 when I played my Denon-3800 through RGB. The problem was immediately corrected by adjusting the DVCO setting in the service menu (thanks go to MrTHX). I can't remember the procedure off the top of my head, but if you type Panasonic and DVCO in the search bar, you should get some results. Unfortunately I haven't discovered access to any other TV service menus for anything except Panasonic.

    Regards

    David

    P.S. My 3800 is on its way back soon (with a laser/mech replacement) so I'll be bench testing it at work as soon as it arrives.
     
  15. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,649
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    ah Mr Merrick thanks, you would have saved me if I hadn't already found the same solution on google forums...I tried it tonight ah VOILA ...it works!!!!! Interference is gone!!!! Hurrah!!!! Thanks for you comments though...

    Strange how I hand't seen this issue on any older DVD players which were also using RGB :confused:

    Here is the link for any other DVD-3800 and Panasonic TX32PF10 or TX36PF10 owners...

    http://groups.google.co.uk/groups?q...lm=TqwC4.2988$Eq.52568@nnrp4.clara.net&rnum=1

    or

    http://groups.google.co.uk/groups?q...lm=t9du2rf1jc5r4b@corp.supernews.co.uk&rnum=1

    Very impressed with the player now I have managed to sort the TV out...

    Upgraded firmware using Dec firmware and now have the following firmware:

    Pre Firmware Upgrade (vanilla Region2):

    ESS A30N
    DRV 6193-2
    ESS 6134-4
    PANEL 6093-2

    Post Dec Fimrware Upgrade

    ESS 720N
    DRV 6193-2
    ESS 34625P
    PANEL 6093-2

    JJ
     
  16. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,649
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    p.s. Mr Merrick - now I have my 3800, we have a really similar setup.. spot the similarities :)

    Panasonic TX32PF10
    Denon DVD-3800
    Denon AVC-10SE
    Rel Q150 Sub and Mission 78 series front and surround speakers set...

    I too want a plasma...need to wait for a bigger house though :D

    JJ
     
  17. Bonesy

    Bonesy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,149
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +28
    where's my original thread?

    ahh - found it, blimey this forum moves quickly.


    anyway - was told yesterday that hayden did lose dvd3800s, and so the next arrival is 2 months away.

    hmmm.
     
  18. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,649
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    sorry for hijacking bonesy :blush: ....I did at least try to keep it on subject at the beginning :D

    JJ
     
  19. gringottsdirect

    gringottsdirect
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,896
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    50 Rue St Georges, Paris.
    Ratings:
    +27
    I was told Hayden did not lose any 3800s, erm, by Hayden, it's like ringing Sky, do they make it up as they go ?

    I'm waiting for a black 3800 with latest laser / firmware.
     
  20. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,649
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    I think Denon should change their slogan to:

    Hear...See...Sense...Reflect...Think DENIAL :D :D

    JJ
     
  21. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,649
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +112
  22. Bonesy

    Bonesy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,149
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +28
    well, apparently -

    the crims broke into hayden on night, and disconntected all alarms, telephones and security systems.

    clearly something was going to happen, so the next night Hayden had the police monitoring the site.

    sure enough, a white transit, came and went outside, then drove into and around the car park very suspiciously.

    good ol' bill, got itchy, and nicked them.

    10 mins later a 7 1/2 tonne flatbed reversed in, and they spent 1 1/2 hours going through the warehouse, picking very carefully what they wanted.


    so - my 3800, that was due in december, is now apparently 2 months away. I think 3800 was amongst the pickings.

    and now I hear about a 2900 without chroma bug - ahhh.


    and every dealer I ask try and sell me Arcam DV 88 instead.
     
  23. Mr Merrick

    Mr Merrick
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    457
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +13
    Good News!

    Got my 3800 back finally after months of frustration with freezing and skipping. Rather than take it home I've been running it constantly all day in the demo room through a Tag AV192R Processor, Rotel-1095 Power Amp and PMC FB1's (Possibly the best sounding floorstanders I've heard to date. Tom (Barron) was quietly confident I'd like them, and I'm going to hear the BB5's next week :eek:

    I tested a variety of discs that were causing me hassle and they've run perfectly...if things stay this way until Friday night, I'm taking it home, but in the meantime, I'm keeping it handy to re-ship (or refund) if necessary.

    Well, I've still got an Arcam DV27 to keep me company...and I have to say that the 'fading' chapter skip has to be the coolest thing I've ever seen on any player...
     
  24. The Hemulen

    The Hemulen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    512
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Ratings:
    +9
    Hmmm, I once had a TV that did a similar thing when changing channels. Thought it really cool when I first bought it but it soon ****ed me off and wished it would change instantly!
    Similar thing with animated menu's on DVD's. Very pretty but if you can't even hit play until they've finished (Monsters Inc being a good recent example)... Grrrrrr :mad:
     
  25. alpha10

    alpha10
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2002
    Messages:
    3,197
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +192
    Hi Mr M.

    Have they replaced your laser and so on??

    If so was your S/N below 1000??

    My player had audio drop outs on the first and fifth film I watched but since then it has been fine, so maybe a little 'bedding' in was needed??

    Cheers
     
  26. Annatar

    Annatar
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have noticd that on my player, the interference is like snow/static

    I have contacted Denon, for advise and they reckon its the discs? But its like it on ALL DVD's

    Should I therefore be sending the player back?
     
  27. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,649
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    have you tried the solution i gave????

    what TV do you have?

    JJ
     

Share This Page

Loading...