1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Sharp LC32P50E - Green DVD's - Help!

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by pmg1173, Oct 3, 2005.

  1. pmg1173

    pmg1173
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    11
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just got my Sharp 32" Aquos delivered today and everything seems fine on Sky etc. Tried watching a DVD and everything is green - have tried changing all the settings etc. and nothing makes any difference - can someone tell me where I'm going wrong or is this possible fault ?

    Any advice would be appreciated as this is my first LCD ,

    cheers

    a complete noobie !
     
  2. David Mackenzie

    David Mackenzie
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,310
    How's it hooked up? Perhaps you are using an RGB SCART connection and there's a problem with one of the pins?

    Or, if you're on Component (Red, Green, Blue wires), make sure they're all in the right sockets - easy mistake!

    Or if you're on DVI or HDMI, go into your DVD players' options and see if changing the colour modes (Y/Cb/Cr and RGB should be options?) makes a difference.
     
  3. jobseeker

    jobseeker
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Messages:
    536
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +57
    I think you'll need to tell us how your player is connected to the set and as many other details as you can about how you've set everything up before anyone can say much.
     
  4. neilmcl

    neilmcl
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +290
    This sounds like you've have the DVD player set to output RGB but you haven't yet set the input type to RGB on the LCD. You have to make sure that the TV knows what signal the DVD is set to output.
     
  5. matt_p

    matt_p
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Messages:
    845
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +38
    How green is the green? Do you mean a slight tint to the picture, or the whole picture is green?

    Some players have a 'green push' that accentuates the green in the image, my old Denon 1910 being one of them. What player have you got?
     
  6. thevoyeur

    thevoyeur
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is going to sound a bit crazy, but I had the exact same issue hooking up my DVD to my LC-32P50E using component. I tried everything, and then thought "What if the inputs are mislabelled on either the DVD player or the TV?" So, I swapped Blue and Red and nearly fell over when it corrected the problem.

    I don't have another device with component outputs to test which device has the problem, DVD or TV...

    Has anyone else experienced this?
     
  7. andycat

    andycat
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've got the same green tint with my DVD player too! A Panasonic hdd and DVD recorder, connected via component, with progressive selected on both. depending on the sttings i have either blackk and white or a green tint!
    on rgb scart on ext1 it's fine, but ext3 with component is as above.

    Any advice please?
     
  8. andycat

    andycat
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't Panic!

    It was my shoddy setting up! A loose connection on my component cable.

    DVD's look great!
     
  9. 8472

    8472
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    90
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +2
    Out of interest andycat, does progressive scan via component on your setup work ok?
     
  10. andycat

    andycat
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Out of interest andycat, does progressive scan via component on your setup work ok?

    Yes, it seems to work fine now I've plugged in the cables properly!

    Both the Panasonic and the Sharp are set to Progressive anyway. Looks a lot better than the RGB Scart I had connected in the mean time anyway!
     
  11. DaveAnderson

    DaveAnderson
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    90
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    No doubt you all saw What HiFi's review. The Sharp got 5 stars but was considered 'weak' on dvd performance. I am 99% sure about this lcd (will be used 80% for SD and 20% dvds) but I want fantastic quality on dvds.

    Seeing as this is at its native resolution, I can't understand why dvd quality would be suspect. Any owners care to comment?

    Plus. trying to kid myself that the 37" would not be too big for my living room, (roughly 14ft*12ft) sat about 8-10 feet away and will leave only a centimetre or so at the side of the speakers!

    Dave
     
  12. RedFrog

    RedFrog
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I sit that far away from a 50" plasma without any problems...go on, you know you want to :devil:
     
  13. Gordon D

    Gordon D
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    140
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi

    I've just been watching "The Day After Tomorrow" on a 2 year old Relisys DVD recorder using component and progressive scan and I'd say the picture quality is excellent! don't know why they said it was "weak" :confused:
     
  14. neilmcl

    neilmcl
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +290
    Yeah, don't believe everything you read in the mags. If you can, try getting a demo for yourself but as far as I'm concerned my 37P50E gives excellant results with DVD and that's just with RGB Scart at the moment, can't wait to get it hooked up via component.

    BTW, my living room's roughly similar in size and the 37" doesn't look out of place at all.
     
  15. DaveAnderson

    DaveAnderson
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    90
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oooh you guys...just what I wanted to hear :clap:

    37" here we come :)
     
  16. Borgy

    Borgy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Messages:
    42
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've got the 32P50E and DVD's look absolutely Stunning via component, not sure what they mean by weak on DVD playback but that's just a load of rubbish, view a demo of one an make ya choice...
     
  17. DaveAnderson

    DaveAnderson
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    90
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I plan to...just need to find a place I can get a good demo...I maxed out the local retailer, after I demo'ed a few sets there but he couldn't even get within £200 of the next cheapest Panny 52! Now I don't mind a premium for dace to face service, but that's taking the p.

    What Hifi do say component output is better than the noisy picture by HDMI, but overall and I quote 'DVD performance isn't the best'! They also say 'the Sharp will never display hi-def' idiots! but on a positive note, they finish with 'this is the best LCD tv we've seen....for off air broadcast'

    Dave
     
  18. Jim Barry

    Jim Barry
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    36
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't think component is any better than RGB, is it? If anything, RGB should actually be better because component YPbPr has to be converted to RGB anyway before being shoved out to the LCD panel.
     
  19. neilmcl

    neilmcl
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +290
    All DVDs are encoded in component RGB and the conversion takes place when using scart not when outputting via component. Also component signals are less susceptible to colour erros than RGB. Also the physical makeup and connectivity of a component cable is much better that a 21-pin scart.

    I know it can also depend on a lot of other factors, such as type of DVD player/Screen etc but generally Component has the edge over Scart, why else are most LCD/Plasma owners using component these days.

    I neglected to mention the obvious advantage of component over scart which is the outputiing of a progressive signal from the DVD.
     
  20. jabberwocky-

    jabberwocky-
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Messages:
    246
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    South East
    Ratings:
    +4
    Quick question: as component is only 'picture only' do I need a separate amp i.e a hi-fi, to hear sound?, or can I connect the dvd to tv with a sound cable?

    Hope that made sense... :) Thanks.
     
  21. neilmcl

    neilmcl
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +290
    Yes you also need an audio cable between the DVD and TV.
     
  22. jabberwocky-

    jabberwocky-
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Messages:
    246
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    South East
    Ratings:
    +4
    thought so... sounds kinda messy in terms of amount of cabling though.
     
  23. neilmcl

    neilmcl
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +290
    2 cables (component and audio) v 1 scart, not that much given the potential rewards.
     
  24. DaveAnderson

    DaveAnderson
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    90
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just checked out dvd playback on the Sharp...initial impression is that it was superb, but a fraction softer than the Panny...that was without any tinkering. I shall be ordering this weekend.

    One thing tho', after looking at the 32", I think the 37" will be enormous! I was thinking that if I bought off the net, at least I could take advantage of the distance selling regs and send it back for the 32". Just bothered about how much it would cost to return.

    Anybody got any experience of this?

    Dave
     
  25. dkboy22

    dkboy22
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is what Home Cinema Choice said:
    "The stunning performance with all standard resolution sources suggests that the scaling-free, 540-line approach has some merit. We've never seen cleaner, more natural standard-def pictures for under £1200, and though HD pictures don't have the same sharpness as on higher resolution screens, they still look exceptionally good."
    - nuff said! :thumbsup:
     
  26. dkboy22

    dkboy22
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Go for the 37" if you can - you won't regret it. :smashin:
     
  27. add46.88

    add46.88
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    975
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +22
    im considering buying a sharp 37P50E but i am concerned about a few things.

    Is it HD ready,along with the HDMI input?

    basicly i want a good lcd for mainly watching freeview,dvds and xbox 360

    I want to connect the xbox 360 by component and my samsung dvd player by HDMI

    I am also thinking about the 32" version i guess that has the same inputs ect..?
     
  28. neilmcl

    neilmcl
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +290
    For the 100th time, the Sharp isn't "HD Ready", in that it doesn't comply with the official "HD REady" requirement of having a minimum vertical resolution of 720 lines. However it is HD Compatible in that it does have all the relevant connections, HDMI and component, and will receive and display HD TV albeit at it's lower resolution of 960x540. If you're watching standard TV (analogue and digitlal) and watching DVDs then this is the one for you. Nobody knows how it will perform with the Xbox 360, we'll have to wait and see.
     
  29. DaveAnderson

    DaveAnderson
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    90
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Goddamit...digisaurus are out of stock. I was going to find a home for the free dvd! Anyone used web electricals? Where else have you bought your 37P50 from that you would recommend?

    Thanks...dave
     
  30. Gordon D

    Gordon D
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    140
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +5

Share This Page

Loading...