1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Sharp Aquos Models

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by baku, Jun 9, 2005.

  1. baku

    baku
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  2. HSC

    HSC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,910
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +142
    some interesting/unusual connections on those screens....

    .LINK (TS) S400 (2 sets)
    Telephone line (56 kbps)
    LAN (10Base-T/100Base-TX)
    Video controller
     
  3. David Mackenzie

    David Mackenzie
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,310
    A man (I assume) of my own heart! Enough with these stupid SCART sockets already. All I ever use them for is connecting my Freeview decoder, and that looks so bad I might as well just plug it in over an S-Video connection anyway.

    Edit: interesting to see the different connections (and names!) as well. The Japanese models have two S2 video inputs (S-Video) and two D4s (Japanese D-Terminal standard, which I believe provides the exact same video as Component, only all the video is contained in one wire).
     
  4. neverenoughtoys

    neverenoughtoys
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2003
    Messages:
    451
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    poole
    Ratings:
    +10
    what freeview box do you use ?
     
  5. scrapbook

    scrapbook
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2002
    Messages:
    7,115
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +527
    They are not pretty are they?...unless you intend to remove the speakers and wall mount
     
  6. Llanowar

    Llanowar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    387
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think sharp is rapidly going to loose their market share. Their previous models were great, the ga5e a big mistake by not adding the digital input. Besides that they are absolute not developing as fast as for example samsung and LG, still the same specs, look and only one realy new feature (the crimson thing or whatever it may be). Besides that, they are really expensive, that 525k yen is 4000 euro's or 2700 gbp(i know it's the advice price...but still way above the 37 inch toshiba and upcoming 40 inch samsung).

    I was really expecting something from the next model from sharp, and it's got everything i want except for some real new innovations and an absurd price :(
     
  7. domtheone

    domtheone
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    13,612
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +2,358
    Yep, The die hards may still go for these but Joe Public will be more difficult to convince.

    Most think pound signs and i'd imagine it'd be quite hard trying to sell a 3K sharp when a same size model (assuming it had a comparable spec) from another brand may only cost 2K..
     
  8. MancNJB

    MancNJB
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Whats the Quick Shoot technology? haven't heard of the current models having this.
     
  9. David Mackenzie

    David Mackenzie
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2003
    Messages:
    10,213
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,310
    Sony VTX-D800U. Outputs RGB, S-Video, or Composite video. All you need is a SCART -> S-Video adapter.
     
  10. Llanowar

    Llanowar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    387
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Ratings:
    +0
    From what i've read so far, it's a technique that sends extra information to certain parts of the screen where fast movement is. I don't know how it works technically, it has been introduced since last models and it's quite good from what i've heard so far!
     
  11. NicolasB

    NicolasB
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    6,036
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Emily's Shop
    Ratings:
    +660
    Maybe it's what other people call "overdrive"?
     
  12. Holly80

    Holly80
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2005
    Messages:
    85
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +5
    A few web sites have prices up, I asume these are speculation and not the actual price,

    http://www.av-sales.co.uk/html/lcd_televisions.html

    and

    http://www.cheapelectricals.co.uk/acatalog/Sharp_LC_32GD7E_lc_32gd7e_LC32GD7E_lc32gd7e.html

    I have also come across a link on avfourms which states that the GD7E has some thing called de juddering, does anyone know what this will do? One thing i did notice is that they are different to the link in baku post.

    I think the lan connection will be to do with the free view decoder

    www.mentor-distribution.com/pdfs/sharptv/LC-32GD7E.pdf
     
  13. Llanowar

    Llanowar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    387
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    Ratings:
    +0
    The de-judder chip was already included in the last line
     

Share This Page

Loading...