New setup sanity check, mostly RE fixed screen

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by gbjk, Aug 29, 2013.

1. gbjk

gbjk
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi,

I have a room I intend to use for a home cinema. I'd like to give some details about my plan, so anyone can point to holes in it before I spend money, if at all possible. I'm a newbie to creating a projector room. I don't have a massive budget for this, but it doesn't seem like that'll be a problem. Most of my question is about the projector screen itself, which is the area where I'm most uncertain.

It's 6.7m long, and about 4.5m wide.

There's a 2.7m window to the far right, with blackout vertical blinds. It doesn't completely blackout daylight, right now, but if I need to, I can get more aggressive about that later. I tried measuring light levels using an android app, but the levels where I intend to project were below detectable levels. That might be a good thing.

I'm intending to buy a Epson EH-TW3200.

I intend to project across the 4.5m width of the room, with the projector mounted, initially, at about 1m off the ground, 1.5m off the horizontal centre of the screen, and 3m from the screen itself. It looks like the lens shift and keystoning should cope with that okay, though I'm expecting it'd be better the more central it is, and might be able to achieve that in the future once the basic system is working.

I have 1.2m of vertical space above a fireplace mantle, below the ceiling cornice. I'm slightly concerned that the picture will be higher than ideal, but there's 3.5m from the screen to the main viewing seats.

I've debated with (assuming tab tensioned where relevant):
    - A recessed electric screen (difficult to install without creating a fake box, and my DIY sucks)
    - A mounted electric screen
    - A pull up screen
    - A fixed frame screen