New setup: Audyssey xt32 questions

chamelious

Established Member
Reaction score
I'm still learning but as i understand it, the idea is the calibration process will calibrate for playback of movies at 0db.

What is my best course of action if this is too loud for my room? I find that the centre channel is too quiet when the volume is backed off.

Thanks

Listening at 0db will almost always be too loud....although a couple of guys on here will disagree ;)

Most people will listen around -10 to -15db.

Are you saying the centre channel is too quiet at these volumes?

Always a good idea to get an SPL meter and a test time disc (spiers and munsil is a good one) and calibrate all channels so they are level at your listening volume. I steer away from the test tones my receiver kicks out as they are totally different to the test disc.

If then you’re still having an issue, it could be a number of things, is your centre channel obstructed, lower than your listening position, incorrectly angled, etc.

You could always test by ear and increase your centre channel volume until you’re happy.

I'm still learning but as i understand it, the idea is the calibration process will calibrate for playback of movies at 0db.

What is my best course of action if this is too loud for my room? I find that the centre channel is too quiet when the volume is backed off.

Thanks

Audyssey is more about correcting issues with your room's EQ than it is about attaining reference. The speakers are levelled so that they all attain the same SPL as measured at you main listening position. The receiver would configure the levels so that a master volume level of 0db would equate to what levels were used during the mixing of the soundtrack and this in turn would indeed be the same reference (or thereabouts) used to portray the soundtrack in a cinema. As you suggest, most households find this level too high to use without it disturbing neighbours and or other family members.