1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Scaler...

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by olliemac, Dec 2, 2004.

  1. olliemac

    olliemac
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has anyone had the circumstance to use the new DVDO iscan HD+ video scaler. I am about to buy it but thought i'd get some opinions first. It will be working alongside my BG808s and is an upgrade from the iscan pro .

    Oh! By the way, has anyone got a copy of the laserdisc video essentials they want to sell, i need to set up the picture (disparity between dvd and ld quite extreme) and this is another reason for the HD+ as i believe it allows you to save seperate settings for each input......speak soon, cheers......
     
  2. Boris Blank

    Boris Blank
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2000
    Messages:
    1,698
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Outpost 31
    Ratings:
    +161
  3. Thunder

    Thunder
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,763
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Ratings:
    +14
    As what you want is a RGBHV output and not a DVI out, I wouldnt bother with the HD+. I would just get a HD and save myself £200.00 :smashin: Because as far as Im aware the only difference between the two is that the HD+ has HDCP encription on the DVI output :thumbsup: I would also look at the Lumagen DVI and the cinemateq picture optimizer plusII as both of these can be equipped with RGBHV BNC output terminals (the cinemateq has them as standard) which is more ideal for a HQ analogue video output :D
     
  4. Bob Todd

    Bob Todd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +373
    Where is the best place to get an Iscan HD+?
     
  5. olliemac

    olliemac
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can get the HD+ for the same price as a HD so what the heck. What is HDCP by the way. From what i have read it is some kind of security protocol for hi-def. Is this the case??
     
  6. Bob Todd

    Bob Todd
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    3,080
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +373

    could u get me one :lease:
     
  7. Thunder

    Thunder
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,763
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Ratings:
    +14
    Your almost spot on HDCP encryption means that the source and display device have to shake hands in order to function with the digital connection :) I to would be interested to know where you can source an Iscan HD+ for £760.00! :confused: :D
     
  8. olliemac

    olliemac
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I work in the industry, cant reveal my sources, but you can get it fairly cheap from the states as well. Although i suppose vat and duty would bugger that. Thunder!! How does the display device know that what its greeting is correct. Does it only work with DVI displays??
     
  9. Thunder

    Thunder
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,763
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Ratings:
    +14
    You only need to worry about HDCP if your using a digital connection (DVI or HDMI). If your using RGBHV out to your PJ then HDCP dosnt come into play. The only other reason it would be important is if your using a HDCP encrypted DVI/HDMI output from your DVD player to the scaler. Personally if I were connecting my DVD player digitally then I would go for the SDI module straight from the MPEG decoder :thumbsup:In which case HDCP dosnt matter :D
     
  10. Vince M

    Vince M
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    473
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Lagoa
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you go for the DVDO I-SCANHD+It has HDCP compliance on the dvd input/output.
     
  11. Vince M

    Vince M
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    473
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Lagoa
    Ratings:
    +0
    760 Is expensive now,your talking to the wrong people.. :)
     
  12. Thunder

    Thunder
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,763
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Ratings:
    +14
    Thats OK, coz I just got a Lumagen Vision HDP with RGBHV BNCs fitted for £760.00!! :laugh:
     
  13. Vince M

    Vince M
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    473
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Lagoa
    Ratings:
    +0
    You paid that much? :hiya:
     

Share This Page

Loading...