1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New Scaler from Focus Enhancements

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Boris Blank, Apr 2, 2002.

  1. Boris Blank

    Boris Blank
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2000
    Messages:
    1,709
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Outpost 31
    Ratings:
    +170
  2. Rob

    Rob
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2000
    Messages:
    1,279
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +33
    Paul,

    Not having any luck with that URL. Looking forward to my new PSM-1 though :D

    Regards Rob.
     
  3. Boris Blank

    Boris Blank
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2000
    Messages:
    1,709
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Outpost 31
    Ratings:
    +170
    Hiya Rob,
    Just checked the Url, appears to be working fine - not sure why you aren't seeing it :(

    This new product looks very tasty and hopefully will lead to more low-cost scalers (or at least more bang for the buck!). Reading between the lines, the Quadscan is dead or at the very least, reduced to being a low-end scaler given its now very limited capabilities.

    Heh, heh, yep PSM-1 - won't be long now, hang in there (bites knuckles with anticipation!).
    Regards,
    Paul
     
  4. Rob

    Rob
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2000
    Messages:
    1,279
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +33
    Paul,

    Yeah, its working fine now. Site must have been down last night.

    Regards Rob.
     
  5. Boris Blank

    Boris Blank
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2000
    Messages:
    1,709
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Outpost 31
    Ratings:
    +170
    The specs for this keep changing for the better! I'm VERY impressed with the potential of this unit - at last someone has got the price and the specs just right. If it does the job (and I see no reason that it shouldn't) it could well be the best-selling scaler ever - it looks that good!

    If the UK price could be held to around £1500 then it would icing on the cake. Mind you, I don't need one as I rarely watch anything other than DVD's on my projector but for all you Buffy fans, antique LD hoarders or what have you then this may very well be what you have all been waiting for. (Me, I'm sticking to my PSM-1 for DVDs and soon to be released UK Viewsonic Videobox for Sky etc)

    If anyone is in the market for a multi-input scaler then I'd advise you to hold off until this baby comes off the production line - it should be well worth the wait!
    Paul
     
  6. Rob

    Rob
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2000
    Messages:
    1,279
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +33
    Paul,

    Whats this Viewsonic videobox you refer to?

    Rob.
     
  7. Boris Blank

    Boris Blank
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2000
    Messages:
    1,709
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Outpost 31
    Ratings:
    +170
    Rob,
    This is a basic scaling device primarily (in my case) for scaling Sky into my projector. I don't need anything fancy, just something to take Svideo and scale it to a reasonable resolution and get rid of the scanlines. Details here;

    http://www.viewsoniceurope.com/uk/Products/Video_Box/VB50HRTV.htm

    However, this is the spec for the US model, the UK model, the VB55, is being finalised for release in late May. Cost is approx £150 - £175 or thereabouts. Quality may not be that great but it will do for my occasional viewing of Sky. This is one of the reasons I've been investigating Port 3 on the Barco (see the thread in the CRT forum - port 5 will be totaly taken up by the PSM/1 so I need to make use of port 3 for other sources).

    Think cheap and cheerful and you've got it in one!
    Paul
     
  8. Rob

    Rob
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2000
    Messages:
    1,279
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +33
    Thanx Paul,

    I was going to keep my Quadscan for TV purposes, but it would make more sense to sell it and buy one of these.

    Rob.
     
  9. Paul Smith

    Paul Smith
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,040
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +142
    PaulB and Rob

    You may be interested to know that you can already get the Viewsonic videobox in the UK (they are sold by Scancom and called the TV-4000 'XGA Theater').
    I have been using one for a couple of months now, first with a Barco 801 and now with a 1208, and for the price it is amazing, it's performance is better than I could of hoped for £175.
    I tried to find reviews about it before buying, but with no luck, I took the chance and went for it and I'm glad I did.

    www.scancom.ltd.uk/products/tv4000.htm

    Paul Smith.
     
  10. Rob

    Rob
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2000
    Messages:
    1,279
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +33
    Thanks Paul,

    Looks a great piece of kit for the cost. Looks like I'll have a Quadscan for sale :D

    I only need it for TV purposes into an 808, so it sound ideal.

    Rob.
     
  11. Baggy

    Baggy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Burton-on-Trent
    Ratings:
    +126
    Paul,

    What rez do you output from the TV-4000.
    I've been waiting to hear from someone who bought one of these.
    Does it work well.
    Kevin
     
  12. Paul Smith

    Paul Smith
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,040
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +142
    Hi Baggy,

    I use the TV-4000 in it's highest resolution 1024 x 768.
    It performs very well indeed, much better than I hoped for.

    It presents a wonderful film like smoothness with no real visible line stucture in the picture.
    It provides just as much fun as a faroudja video scaler I saw recently which cost thousands, but at a fraction of the cost and with a TV tuner built in as well the TV-4000 would seem to be an amazing bargain.

    Cheers,
    Paul Smith.
     
  13. Paul Smith

    Paul Smith
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,040
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +142
    Hi,

    Just a little note:
    With my Barco projector a HD15-to-5 BNC cable had to be purchased separately to allow the TV-4000 to work, (£20 from www.maplin.co.uk )I think it's output can only be plugged into the RGB port 4/5 on the projector.

    Cheers,
    Paul Smith.
     
  14. Rob

    Rob
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2000
    Messages:
    1,279
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +33
    Presumably you could just use a HD 15 to the VGA port on the Barco. I think this is how Paul (B) was discussing refering to sync problems encountered while using port 4/5.

    Think I'll order one anyway. Seems a good solution for scaling TV sources. Could then still use the BNCs for the DVD. (when I get it back)

    Rob.
     
  15. Baggy

    Baggy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Burton-on-Trent
    Ratings:
    +126
    Paul S,

    What do you input via the Scancom?
    Kevin
     
  16. Paul Smith

    Paul Smith
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,040
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +142
    Hi,

    I too hoped to just plug straight into the port 3 on the projector, but it didn't work for me and another trip to the shops was needed to exchange the cables which I had bought, (perhaps others will have more luck with this, and could let us know thier outcome).

    As for the inputs to the TV-4000,
    I use the S-video feed from my DVD player, and until I re-routed an aerial feed I used composite feed from a video machine, ( I now use an aerial straight to the Scaler for normal TV broadcasts).

    Cheers,

    Paul Smith.
     
  17. Paul Smith

    Paul Smith
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,040
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +142
    Hi,

    It's always annoying when I think of something to add just after posting a message.

    The Port 3 connection on my old Barco 801 data was just a TTL input, hense why it didn't work (important to check this beforehand).
    There shouldn't be a problem if I tried it with the 1208, but I'm happy with the port 5 now so whatever.
    Cheers,

    Paul Smith.
     
  18. Dubbing Mixer

    Dubbing Mixer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    643
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    By, and sometimes in, the sea
    Ratings:
    +2
    Well, well. I e-mailed Viewsonic a few weeks ago and they replied saying they had no plans to produce the box in PAL format!

    Paul, Many thanks for the link to Scancom I'll order one when the next cheque arrives ;-)

    There is a thread on AVSforum which has details of a number of mods which may well be applicable to the TV-4000 to improve the PQ

    http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?s=&threadid=119534&highlight=Viewsonic

    There are many other threads which refer to the Viewsonic unit.

    Modify at your own risk!
     
  19. Baggy

    Baggy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Burton-on-Trent
    Ratings:
    +126
    Does anyone know what the UK price will be for the new Quadscan?
     
  20. Boris Blank

    Boris Blank
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2000
    Messages:
    1,709
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Outpost 31
    Ratings:
    +170
    As predicted, the prices of Quadscans are falling like rocks! AVS are selling off B stock (used but factory refurbished) units for $499. This is a bargain price for anyone looking for a Quadscan. Even with postage, import tax, its still less than approx. £450 to have one shipped over.

    Go here for details;
    http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?threadid=137561

    Regards,
    Paul
     
  21. Baggy

    Baggy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Burton-on-Trent
    Ratings:
    +126
    They also have a powerbuy on the new CenterStage.
    I was wondering how this would compare against the UK price?
     
  22. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,982
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,786
    The b-stock is Quadscan Pro not Elite..... Elite's have just dropped in price in UK a bit...

    I think that when OWL announce UK pricing dealers like me will be able to offer a price competative with personal importation from US. That is to say that once import duty, shipping and VAT are added on my price should look pretty good....I am awaiting final comfirmation from OWL as to UK pricing though....oh and also seeing the thing as I will not sell a product I think is crap!

    Gordon
     
  23. Baggy

    Baggy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Burton-on-Trent
    Ratings:
    +126
    Hi Gordon,

    What's your opinion on the Quadscan Pro?

    I'm looking for something that I can use to feed Sky and my old NTSC LD's to my Marquee 8000.

    Kevin
     
  24. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,982
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,786
    I liked mine when I had it. They don't sync quickly and seamlessly to the signal as you switch inputs, resolutions or aspect ratios. Other than that strange anomoly, which was alot better with the final software, they were pretty good at the time.

    Gordon
     
  25. Baggy

    Baggy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Burton-on-Trent
    Ratings:
    +126
    Thanks Gordon,

    Most of my viewing is DVD's the setup of which I'm happy with.
    So for occasional viewing of Sky a Quadscan Pro may meet my needs.
    I don't understand the 2:2 pulldown bit that it's missing.
    Will this be relevant for Sky?
    I've no intention of watching PAL DVD's through it.
    Kevin
     
  26. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,982
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,786
    2:2 pulldown is a method used for detecting the relationship between fields of a video image in order to put them back together to create the original film frame. So, it's useful when playing back any material which is originally from film stock, be it on DVD, Video tape or broadcast. So if you watch Sky movies all the time it may be useful, if just daytime TV then perhaps not...

    Gordon
     
  27. Baggy

    Baggy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Burton-on-Trent
    Ratings:
    +126
    Thanks Gordon,
    I think I understand it a bit more now.
    Kevin
     
  28. Alan Roser

    Alan Roser
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Gentlemen,

    Well I have my hands on the new Centerstage CS-1 from Focus Enhancements and what a clever box of tricks this is.

    This is a beta unit we have as we are testing for FE but early indications are very promising.

    Inputs are 2 composite, 2 svideo, 2 component or 2 rgbs, progressive comp in, DVI and out PC in. You can then output to a variety of resolutions incliuding 720p,1080p, WXGA etc.

    But the great thing is that you can create your own custom resolutions to match the exact sweet spot of your display. Refresh rates also can be changed so this should solve problems with plasmas and 50hz refresh and high scan rates.

    I estimate that the UK price will be £1700 and I hope to ship stock by the end of June.

    This is a very powerful processor and because of the custom programming by the owner allows for greater future proofing.

    We will be showing the unit at CEDIA next month.

    Regards


    Alan Roser
    Owl Video Systems Ltd
     
  29. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,982
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,786
    So there you go guys...a sort of cross between a Rock and a Vigatec with best bits of each....I'll start taking orders now shall I!

    Alan,

    I'll be at CEDIA from Tuesday night to Thursday mid afternoon. Looking forward to popping in and seeing it. Cheers,

    Gordon
     
  30. Baggy

    Baggy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Burton-on-Trent
    Ratings:
    +126
    Anyone seen the CS-1 in action yet?
     

Share This Page

Loading...