1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New reciever to go with 4 ohm speakers

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by samsjo, Feb 25, 2004.

1. samsjo

samsjo

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi guys,

I'm about to get myself a new reciever, because I'm quite new to homecinema I would appreciate some thoughts from experts.

I have got some Dynaudio speakers 42, 42W, 42C and a Rel quake sub.

I will be useing the system for both music and ht.

My shortlist includes:

Yamaha 1400/2400
    HK 430/7500

I know the 7500 has less features and only 5ch amplification, but I dont intend to get 6.1/7.1 anytime soon.

So I guess the question is what you think will produce the best sound with my speakers?

And I dont have the possibility to do any home auditions :(

/Zeb

2. Rolo Tomasi

Rolo Tomasi

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    HK receivers have a good reputation for amplification and I would expect them to drive your speakers without a problem. The 7500 could be supplemented with a 2-channel power amp to provide 7.1 capability in future, if required.

I have not heard Yamaha receivers but they seem to come with all the latest features, decoding etc, probably more than the HK alternatives. It may come down to a choice between sound quality and features.

Perhaps others with experience of both manufacturers can be of more assistance. All I can say is that I am very happy with my HK and it certainly doesn't struggle with anything I can throw at it.

3. Coaxial

Coaxial

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    for 4 ohm speakers, you need current - watts become acaedemic at low impedance values.

my first choice would be pre / power using rotel kit, if not, try harman, bryston etc, as they supply the guts needed to control your dynaudios.