New questions.......

TopMeTom

Ex Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I was thinking about a plasma but would like a big a screen as poss,so I am now interested in pj's.
Question:does anyone know of the best place to go to demo pj's?
What are the best types at the moment?
Would i be able to watch "normal" tv on one or only films?
Does the room have to be totally black all the time?
Are they noisy?
My room is about 18-22 foot long byabout 12 foot wide...what size screen could i get?how far away is the minimum/maximum?

I am just a newbie to this,

PLEASE,help me.......:confused:

Phil

Hi and welcome to this part of the forums !!

You're starting from scratch, so I'd recommend reading your way through the posts here for the last while - good way of getting the basics, also recommend the FAQ.

I'll have a pop at your questions, but TBH there's oads of stuff to take into account so take my suggestions as guidelines - no doubt others will be along with alternative/additional views.

Questions:

Does anyone know of the best place to go to demo pj's?

Nexnix are forum sponsors and have a sterling reputation with members here - they have decent demo facilities. (Horsham in Sussex)

What are the best types at the moment?

Ha Ha !! Don Flameproof suits now!! Have a read of posts about the Panasonic AE300, Sanyo Z1, Sony HS10, NEC HT1000 and lots of others.... There are new projectors due to come onto the market in the next few months - see recent posts about Sanyo Z" and Sony HS20, for instance, NEC HT1100 also due, and new models from Sharp etc.

What's "best" depends on your eyes (and your budget....), go out and see some projectors in action, ask if there are forum members living in your area who'd demo their systems for you.

Would i be able to watch "normal" tv on one or only films?

You can watch TV programmes on a projector, no problem, but I wouldn't recommend a projector as a replacement for a TV - there are members who do use them as a TV, but it just isn't for me.