New PVR to replace sky HD box

Discussion in 'Digital TV & Video Players & Recorders' started by ss sulaco, Jul 20, 2015.

Tags:
  1. ss sulaco

    ss sulaco
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    64
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +3
    Can anyone recommend a freesat box to replace my sky HD.
    Are the humax boxes any good ?
    HD ? reliability ? ETC
     
  2. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    24,627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,208
    This sort of question is hard to answer.

    I can say I have four Humax boxes currently in service.

    Two are satellite, one is a Foxsat-hdr dating from 2008, it's still working fine, the second is HDR1000S obtained just after launch, also working fine.

    I also have two Freeview+ pvrs (HDR FOX T2) which also work fine. These boxes and the Foxsat-HDR benefit greatly from the custom firmware available for these boxes.

    You might buy one, and sods law dictates your box might fail just after the 2 year warranty expires.

    However the most common fault is the hard disk expires, replacing the hard disk is pretty simple though.

    The simple question to answer is HD, all are High Definition boxes.

    ETC is really hard to quantify.

    The latest freesat+ freetime boxes have the full complement of free catch up services, but I have no idea if this is included in ETC :)

    If you produced a list of what capability you want/desire in a satellite box, or what facilities you would want to it would be much easier to give an answer (For example do you use a Sky RF2 output to send pictures to a remote TV paired with Magic Eyes to provide remote control ? )

    Ask specific questions, you are likely to get proper answers :).
     
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2015
  3. ss sulaco

    ss sulaco
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    64
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +3
    I want to watch TV with it via my sky dish.I'm no very tech minded ,unlike yourselves bamboozling me with jaunty tech jargon

    Its to replace a sky box so naturally it will be using the 2 sky leads so I can record 2 channels at once.
    free view boxes are no use to me in central Scotland with about only 15 Channels so it has to be a fee sat box.
    cheers for you answer anyway
     
  4. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    24,627
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Redditch
    Ratings:
    +4,208
    Any of the current Humax boxes, HDR1000S, HDR1010S, HDR1100S should be fine.

    Incidentally Humax boxes can use both tuners to record using a single cable. This of course does give some recording restrictions.
     
  5. ss sulaco

    ss sulaco
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Messages:
    64
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thank you had looked at these boxes online
     

Share This Page

Loading...