• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Question New purchase of Denon X4300h

Intelz

Hi everyone,
I am a complete novice with regards to AVR's and after reading over this forum for the last 10 days or so, I have decided to purchase the X4300h.

I am now somewhat bemused by the vast choice of speakers and would be obliged with some input in selecting some 5.1 speakers.

The TV is on a unit against the wall and the couch is 8 feet away and is also against the wall, and there is plenty of room for the front 3 speaker and sub woofer and the 2 rear speakers would be placed on either side of the couch.

I have narrowed it down to these 3 but as I said I am a novice when it comes to home theatre stuff and some input/advice would be greatly appreciated.
Denon AVR-X4300H with Q Acoustics 3000 Cinema Speakers
Denon AVR-X4300H with Monitor Audio Bronze 2 AV Speakers
Denon AVR-X4300H with KEF Q300 AV Speakers

The last question is, would it be better to get a pair of TALL speakers for the rears.

Thank you.
Alex.

dante01

Distinguished Member
Any of the three speaker packages you mention would be fine. They do all have slightly different signature sounds associated with them so it is more a matter of your personal preference as opposed to which of them may or may not be suitable. You'd need to audition them to appraise this.

No, I'd not suggest you use floorstanding speakers as surrounds. Floorstanders require more space than smaller cabinet speakers and are not the best option for close location to walls and or corners.