new projector just arrived

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by jackobeen, Jan 9, 2012.

  1. jackobeen

    jackobeen
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    hello,postman just delivered my new acer h5360bd projector.
    never had one before,so going to try to get it connected to the kids
    playstation 3 .is there any do or do nots i should be aware of before
    connecting up,should i use the eco mode first for so many hours.
    sorry for the stupid questions but dont want to mess things up.
    thanks.
     
  2. toddy28

    toddy28
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,634
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +685
    Just plug in and play the Only thing I would say is don't turn it on and off all the time if your going to make a cup of tea or stop watching a film for 20min or so it's best to leave the projector on or it can shorten your bulb life
     
  3. jackobeen

    jackobeen
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    ok,
    connected the playstation to the projector with hdmi cable,
    turned projector on but getting no signal,also the image which
    just says acer is out of focus,tried adjusting it and moving
    projector forward and backwards but cant get a clear image.
    any ideas please.hope its something simple.
     
  4. jackobeen

    jackobeen
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    pressed 4 on the remote for hdmi,now i have a signal,
    but still cant get it in focus.
     
  5. jackobeen

    jackobeen
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    pressed the aspect ratio button on remote,at least now i can
    read the writing on the screen,but is still out of focus.
     
  6. toddy28

    toddy28
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,634
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +685
    Your kidding ? Right !!!

    Focus ring around the lens turn it to focus ?

    Have a look in the manual ;)
     
  7. jackobeen

    jackobeen
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    thanks toddy 28,sorted,adjusted the ring.as i said
    ive never had one before.
    learning slowly.
    ps i am ok with tellys.
     
  8. toddy28

    toddy28
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,634
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +685
    Glad you got it sorted , but read the manual to get the most out of your projector

    It is allowed we won't tell any of your man friends :laugh:
     
  9. jackobeen

    jackobeen
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    yea,tried reading the manual but was running out of time
    before the kids came home from school.their on the playstation at the moment.
    image looks fantastic,just got to save up for some 3d glasses now.
    while their on their ps3 i am trying to connect up a LG ht353sd surround system to the projector,
    i noticed on the back of the pj there are 3 connectors red, blue and green and a yellow connector.
    on the back of my surround system theres also the same component connectors,if i connect these leads up
    would i get the sound through the surround system,dont want to blow anything.
     
  10. toddy28

    toddy28
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,634
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +685
    there compoent inputs not for sound on the projector and there outputs on your sound system all for video not sound

    looking at the spec of your sound system it doesent have hdmi or optical input so its not going to be possible to send the audio from your ps3 through it (you could get an adaptor but you would only get stereo sound )

    best option would be an upgrade
     
  11. jackobeen

    jackobeen
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    thanks for the reply toddy28,found this on the forum,going to
    try tomorrow.
    Step 1: Connect your ps3 to your LG ht353sd through the ps3's av/scart output, into the L/R AV inputs on the receiver. (check the specs again because im looking at them)

    Step 2:Go into the settings menu on your ps3's XMB and go into audio settings. Set audio output to AV...................DONE.

    Your video can be sent straight to your tv either through a scart/av or a hdmi cable depending on which you prefer.

    Hope that helps anyone who has a similar problem.
     
  12. jackobeen

    jackobeen
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    sorted,all working,but will upgrade in the near future.
    thanks once again toddy 28 for your help.
     
  13. toddy28

    toddy28
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,634
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +685
    No problem mate, when you do upgrade go for an av amp and speakers not an all in one system as it will be a lot better quality and last for a lot longer as you can change your system around the amp
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice