1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

new pro scan prob

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by clancol, Sep 13, 2003.

  1. clancol

    clancol
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    982
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +6
    Ok i thought i knew all about pro scan but i find it hard to work this out.
    I know that ps dvd players output either pal or ntsc. and i know the difference in the resolutions frame rate and such.
    but i thought that if the display could accept ntsc ps then it would
    be able to accept pal ps without extra technology.
    in this case i am on about the new tosh ####36 reap pro series.
    So basicly what does the tv have to do to accept pal PScan that it doesn't do to accept Ntsc.

    This just seems like another hurdel for us to jump.

    and do u think there will be a way round this stupidly annoying thing.

    Why do companies think that its o.k to give is half rated productes compared to other ereas of the world. whats the cost of a dvi input board. and ps for pal?

    Im a bit fed up.

    If one company could actualy give us what we want. instead of making us wait silly times they could rule the world of av.
     
  2. clancol

    clancol
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    982
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +6
    cancel all that.
    I get it now
    yea
     
  3. PAUL RODGERS

    PAUL RODGERS
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    159
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    manchester
    Ratings:
    +0
    I MAY BE STUPID BUT I AM HAVING A PROBLEM WITH PAL PROGRESSIVE SCAN ON MY PLASMA IS THERE ANYTHING I CAN DO
     
  4. Dimmy

    Dimmy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +0
    Helps if you tell us what equipment you're using PAUL RODGERS
     
  5. PAUL RODGERS

    PAUL RODGERS
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    159
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    manchester
    Ratings:
    +0
    EQUIPMENT IS

    1.L&G MZ42PZ17 PLASMA

    2.DENON DVD 2900
     
  6. clancol

    clancol
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    982
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +6
    i dont think the lg plasma eccepts pal ps.
    try turning the plasma and the player to ntsc-pal modes and so on
    managed to get it working in the store but can't remeber which combanation it was in.
    keep changing the settings yous should work it out.
     
  7. PAUL RODGERS

    PAUL RODGERS
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    159
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    manchester
    Ratings:
    +0
    THANKS FOR THE ADVICE.

    THE ONLY PROBLEM IS THE PLASMA DOES NOT GIVE YOU THE OPTION OF PAL OR NTSC
     
  8. clancol

    clancol
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2003
    Messages:
    982
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +6
    well it must be an option with the dvd player. as
    we definatly had pal progressive workin with that plasma. i think it will have to be the pal-ntsc option.
     
  9. PAUL RODGERS

    PAUL RODGERS
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    159
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    manchester
    Ratings:
    +0
    what dvd player was it

    could it be the cables that are faulty

    i have tried everything and am thinking of sending the dvd back, i had a better picture of my limit dvd which cost me £100 and that processed ntsc prog scan.

    any help would be appreciated
     
  10. Foot&Mouth

    Foot&Mouth
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i take it you are using component as a connection, as a scart wont carry a progressive signal
     
  11. PAUL RODGERS

    PAUL RODGERS
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2003
    Messages:
    159
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    manchester
    Ratings:
    +0
    YES

    I HAVE JUST CHANGED THE CABLES AND I NOW CAN RECEIVE NTSC PROG SCAN BUT PAL SEEMS JUMPY. THE SCREEN CAN ACCEPT PAL PROG BECAUSE L&G NOTIFIED ME THAT IT COULD
     
  12. JUS

    JUS
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    3,126
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Plute
    Ratings:
    +211
    Paul, STOP SHOUTING You're giving me a headache:)....you will find your caps lock on the left just above your shift key :D

    sounds like the plasma isn't recognising the signal comming in. Can you manually change it to 575p?
     

Share This Page

Loading...