New Plasmas and Freeview HD

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by lysaght, Mar 17, 2006.

  1. lysaght

    lysaght
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm just about to buy a new Panasonic HD plasma TV (PX60) with integrated dual Freeview tuners. When Freeview moves to HD (1 year?) will these tuners become obsolete ie I'll have to buy a new HD freeview box or TV?
    Vince
     
  2. rEVILospud

    rEVILospud
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Messages:
    2,295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Shoreham-by-Sea
    Ratings:
    +235
    You will need to buy a new HD set-top box but not a new TV.
     
  3. theo cupier

    theo cupier
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,670
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Amersham, Bucks
    Ratings:
    +113
    I didn't think it was as soon as 2007 that HD would move to Freeview. Don't we have to wait for the old analogue channels to disappear to free up bandwidth before HD can roll out on Freeview?

    The above post does answer your question, though.
     
  4. choddo2006

    choddo2006
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8,528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +542
    1 year? You'll be lucky
     
  5. lysaght

    lysaght
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know the BBC are testing Freeview HD now - some people on this forum have seen the output through a Panasonic box at Home Cinema exhibitions.
    Maybe it'll be sooner than we think?
    Vince
     
  6. choddo2006

    choddo2006
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    8,528
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +542
    They can test it all they like but there's no bandwidth for it until they shut down analogue (unless MPEG4 might give them the chance of doing it in relatively little more than an SD channel? Hmm)
     
  7. Reaperman

    Reaperman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    636
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Stroud, GLOS
    Ratings:
    +28
    Ei.....
    Im working on the basis that 2009 - 2010 will be the change over for the "masses"
     
  8. lewi

    lewi
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    181
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Somerset, England
    Ratings:
    +4
    You are assuming transmission via terrestrial transmitters. The Beeb have access to satellite tranmission as well and do have the bandwidth to broadcast freeview satellite that way.

    Lets just wait and see. Broadcasters don't like making hasty annoucements. Look at SKY and the cost of the HD package and when transmission will actually begin.
     

Share This Page

Loading...