1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

new pioneers

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by dennis, Aug 26, 2003.

  1. dennis

    dennis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    surrey
    Ratings:
    +54
    just bought what hi*fi (sorry),small bit and picture of new pioneer 43" has a "piano black" bezel,looks very nice from what i can see of it,but no mention of prices.
    coming to you next month!:clap:
     
  2. tbrar

    tbrar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. dennis

    dennis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    surrey
    Ratings:
    +54
    thank's a lot!:mad:
    now ive seen it better i'll HAVE to have one,why oh why did i have to look ,quick where's me pills.:D

    den,soon to be even more in debt.
     
  4. dennis

    dennis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    surrey
    Ratings:
    +54
    only joking,thank's tony,
    :smashin:
     
  5. Loafer316

    Loafer316
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    Excellent i been hoping for a plasma with such a finish...personally don't really like silver bezels. From what i understand media box should be able to take both PAL and NTSC progressive....any idea how long after the MXE version would come out? i was hoping of purchasing a plasma in the beginning of the new year....as i am decorating and currently putting trunking in the wall in place for a new plasma....
     
  6. tbrar

    tbrar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Loafer316,

    The 4th generation MXE's are due out in March 2004 I beleive.

    Tony
     
  7. Loafer316

    Loafer316
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    cheers m8...better start saving...might wait see what the pics like with new media box too.
     
  8. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,790
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,467
    Loafer316

    Please dont expect the PDP-434MXE (2004) to 'look' like the new 434HDE - the MXE will retain the Charcoal bezel and may look slightly more 'ruggedised' than the current MXE.

    Glass edges to the MXE screen surrounds wouldn't last too long in anyone's hire fleet!!!

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  9. Loafer316

    Loafer316
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thxs for the heads up Joe..guess i'll wait and see what ppl make of the 434HDE...don't currently know what the connections will be but the Plasma purchase will defo have a HTPC connected to it as well as a normal dvd player (for the parents) and Sky or Ntl. Thats really why don't wanna be paying for a tuner box...oh well will wait and see.:zonked:
     
  10. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Loafer, the 43" pio. may not be the one for HCPC use, remember those rectangular pixels. If you want a 40 odd inch display, you might need to look at one of the new Iiyama LCD's, cant think of a hi-res display with square(well nearly!) pixels apart from that. NEC do one but it's computers only, no video inputs.
     
  11. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    IIRC NEC's 30" and 40" LCD have plenty of inputs (DVI, VGA at least one component, SVHS and a couple of CVBS I think). I didn't have a HCPC to run through it but I did need to test it for data use with a budget PC (for hire and commercial apps) and the thing looked awesome!
     
  12. Plump

    Plump
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    636
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    under the bridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    Let's hope Key Digital will finally make those cards for Pioneers available (and compatible with new AND old series)
     
  13. tbrar

    tbrar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Plump,

    If you are interested and cannot for KD wait then Aurora are shipping product:-

    www.auroramultimedia.com

    Line up includes HDCP DVI compliance, on board scaling to popular resolutions/HDTV formats etc, all as input card into panel.

    They also have a new ASR-44 board that ships soon for some real horse power, ie this will deinterlace a 1080i input (according to Aurora).


    Tony
     
  14. tbrar

    tbrar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Loafer316

    What HCPC are you running ??


    Tony
     
  15. Plump

    Plump
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    636
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    under the bridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tony,
    do you maybe know if they comply with PAL or is it just another USA product that misses letters PAL in its alphabet

    Thanks
    Kastrup
     
  16. tbrar

    tbrar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Kastrup

    As far as I am aware, they actually have PAL modified versions that they ship on request.

    You may want to contact them directly, very helpfull chaps.


    Tony
     
  17. Loafer316

    Loafer316
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    330
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    @tbrar i havn't made it yet! but hoping on using a Radeon 9000 or higher combined with powerstrip...you for general movie watching and streaming mp3 video's etc from the server i'm making to go under the stairs.
     
  18. Ratoban

    Ratoban
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2003
    Messages:
    130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +1
    Anyone know when the 50" will be released?

    Rob.:confused:
     
  19. tbrar

    tbrar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  20. Ratoban

    Ratoban
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2003
    Messages:
    130
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks Tony, just sent him an e-mail.

    .......Still resisting the urge.....just!.

    Rob.
     
  21. Dutch

    Dutch
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,561
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +257
  22. Plump

    Plump
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    636
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    under the bridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    But no word about MXE models !!!
     
  23. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,790
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,467
    Plump:

    1. No new MXE models until April 2004.
    2. Pioneer Consumer dont supply the MXE so wont mention them :)

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  24. Plump

    Plump
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    636
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    under the bridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanx Joe, fast answer as always.
    Gordon thinks KD card will also have to wait until next year, obviously my timeline to put the budget together will be spring 2004.

    One other question, do you know anything about Aurora cards. How are they dealing with PAL signals.

    Thanks
    Kastrup
     
  25. tbrar

    tbrar
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    609
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Plump

    Give them a call or an Email, they are fairly helpful to a point...

    One thing that you need to be aware of is all there current cards / stand alone units are 8 Bit Video only.

    Thats 24 bit Colour depth, thats 16.7 Million colours.


    Tony
     
  26. SimonO

    SimonO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +64
    What's the price going to be on the 43", and are the desk top stand and speakers included..?
     
  27. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,790
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,467
    Simon

    I dont think Pioneer UK are going to release the 434HDE pricing until the trade launch on 18 Sept 03.

    I've been asking pretty much every day but keep getting told its not been set as yet.

    I'm also sure you'll be able to buy the unit with or without some of the optional accessories and there may well be an incentive to purchase the accessories as a bundle.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  28. Plump

    Plump
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    636
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    under the bridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tony,
    I already sent a longer email, but wanted to know if there are any experiences in the field.

    Let's see what comes out. Whatever it is, I will wait for next gen MXE plasmas to make a purchase, that's what I decided over six months ago.

    I need the scaler card and I will have to decide what to use as tuner. Features as teletext and PIP are essential to me. It is beautiful when you have a choice :)

    Thanks
    Kastrup
     
  29. joys_R_us

    joys_R_us
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Pioneer 434 HDE list price in Germany is 6.999 Euros(approx. 4830 pounds but only with 16% VAT) for the set (incl. display, media box and speakers, but no stand). I have here an official price list distributed in the Berlin exhibition to the public.

    As many other gear is more expensive in the UK than on the Continent expect something like 5000+ list price over there
     
  30. dennis

    dennis
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    surrey
    Ratings:
    +54
    how much! i think my enthusiasm for the new pioneer is fading away,i thought it would be in line with the panny6 .ah well panasonic here i come.:rolleyes:
     

Share This Page

Loading...